The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Adding a border to my webpage, Matching Forums & Homepage
NovaArgon
post Nov 27 2007, 04:56 PM
Post #1


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



Hi guys i'm trying to make my homepage and forums look more alike so that you don't feel like you have went to a different place when you go to the forums.

my home page is http://www.drysnot.com
my forums is http://www.drysnot.com/forums

IPB Image


I want to take green and have it as the background on my home page and use the blue to border the link that are currently on my home page.

Do you guys have any idea how to do that?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Nov 27 2007, 06:38 PM
Post #2


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,127
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



Usually your forum software has an administrative control panel where you can alter the SKIN of the forums. You have to be logged in as an administrator to get to it.

For more detailed help I'd contact the developers of the forum software, or their support forums.

hth



User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 27 2007, 06:59 PM
Post #3


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



QUOTE(jimlongo @ Nov 27 2007, 06:38 PM) *

Usually your forum software has an administrative control panel where you can alter the SKIN of the forums. You have to be logged in as an administrator to get to it.

For more detailed help I'd contact the developers of the forum software, or their support forums.

hth



Thanks for the reply.

I can't get html support form where I got the forums software. I'm just trying to figure out how to copy the border I dont know the code to create it.

I'm still trying to learn.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 27 2007, 11:06 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,773
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It's phpBB. They have a large user forum.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 12:22 AM
Post #5


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



Yea but they only give support for the forums. I might not have worded it good but the forums are good. I'm happy with how they look.

http://www.drysnot.com/forums is good

http://www.drysnot.com needs to be changed to match.


I was thinking I would try and used tables or something.

I can change the background color easy then I should be able to butcher the forums with an image editor and I can copy and past enough of the forum border so that I can recreate it and just use it as a background image on the homepage.

Do you think that would work or would the existing tables get in the way?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 28 2007, 01:14 AM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,773
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Oh! We throught you wanted to change the look of the forum. laugh.gif

Well, View Source at the forum front page and snatch away.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 01:17 AM
Post #7


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



Haha thanks for the help. I'm about to post what i'v got and see how it looks in a sec
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 01:26 AM
Post #8


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



how do I center the bg image
<body bgcolor="#282828" background="background.jpg">

right now its titled or whatever

This post has been edited by NovaArgon: Nov 28 2007, 01:26 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 28 2007, 01:50 AM
Post #9


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,344
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



You need to use CSS. See Background and Color Properties in our CSS reference.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 01:52 AM
Post #10


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



I don't know how to code css

does it take long to learn? Could I figure it out tonight?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 28 2007, 02:05 AM
Post #11


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,344
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Please see the FAQ entry Where can I learn about CSS?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 03:01 AM
Post #12


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



background-position= 50% 50%
background-position= center center

where to I put them to make them work?

I was thinking here but I keep missing

<body bgcolor="#282828" background="background.jpg">
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 28 2007, 03:06 AM
Post #13


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,344
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Please see Linking Style Sheets to HTML in our CSS reference.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 03:20 AM
Post #14


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



Thanks for the links and all your help

Your killing me though lol
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 03:30 AM
Post #15


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



You ever feel like you are on the wrong boat?

<body bgcolor="#282828"
background-image:'background.jpg';
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: 50% 50%;
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 03:37 AM
Post #16


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



Ok

I got the background in order

now for the rest of the tables


<style type="text/css">
body
{
background-image: url('background.jpg');
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: 50% 1%;
}
</style>
</HEAD>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://shots.snap.com/ss/78410ed50ea4cbab427b634626bea5df/snap_shots.js"></script>
<body bgcolor="#282828">
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 12:26 PM
Post #17


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



http://www.drysnot.com
http://www.drysnot.com/forums

I got it thanks so much for all your help
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 02:17 PM
Post #18


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



There is always a down side to everything lol


Its great in fire fox but in ie it is all jacked up

any ideas?

This post has been edited by NovaArgon: Nov 28 2007, 03:03 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Nov 28 2007, 02:34 PM
Post #19


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,344
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



As the quoted message said, you need a type="text/javascript" attribute in your <script> tag.

And your images need alt attributes. See ALT texts in IMG.

And you've used a non-standard height attribute. You can remove it and use CSS instead.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
NovaArgon
post Nov 28 2007, 03:04 PM
Post #20


Always Need To Learn A New Code
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 10-June 07
From: South Carolina
Member No.: 3,057



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Nov 28 2007, 02:34 PM) *

As the quoted message said, you need a type="text/javascript" attribute in your <script> tag.

And your images need alt attributes. See ALT texts in IMG.

And you've used a non-standard height attribute. You can remove it and use CSS instead.



Thanks so much for the help. I think i'm valid now.

Do you know if there is something to make IE and Fire Fox look the same?

My page is jacked up in IE but looks great in Fire Fox
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2021 - 10:50 PM