The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Two of 5 pages not showing favicon
larry78723
post Jun 27 2020, 04:51 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



The website I'm developing on a local server has 5 pages. On three of the pages, favicon displays correctly. On the other two, it doesn't display. All the pages have the same code in the header
except for the css file, title, and meta description.
CODE
<head>
    <title>Foxclone Legal Terms</title>
    <meta name="description" content="This is free, open-source, software" />
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0" />
    <meta name="content-type"" content="text/html" charset="utf-8" />
    <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="ie=edge" />
    <link href="css/legal.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
    <!-- Favicon  -->
    <link rel="icon" href="fox.ico" />

</head>


Does anyone have any idea what's going on?

Thanks in advance,
Larry
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jun 27 2020, 10:17 PM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,735
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



It looks to me like the link is incomplete. I write mine like this:
CODE
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="fox.ico" />

I have seen code samples with the link as you have it but I've no idea how well it works. Also, if you put the favicon in the root directory of your web site most modern browsers will use it. You don't need the link code for that but I like to put my icons in a separate directory so I use link code.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Jun 27 2020, 10:21 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 28 2020, 01:06 AM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,879
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



So you have the same LINK in the header, but are all HTML files in the same directory? Or if they are in different directories have you placed a copy of the ico file in each one?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Jun 28 2020, 05:39 AM
Post #4


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



QUOTE(pandy @ Jun 28 2020, 02:06 AM) *

So you have the same LINK in the header, but are all HTML files in the same directory? Or if they are in different directories have you placed a copy of the ico file in each one?


Pandy, all of the files are .php files, not html and are in the same folder along with the favicon.


EDIT: If I open the files that don't display the favicon in the server, as files in my browser, the favicon does display.

This post has been edited by larry78723: Jun 28 2020, 06:18 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 28 2020, 01:56 PM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,879
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Doesn't matter if what extension the pages have. Then I don't know, unless you have some error in the pages that don't work correctly.

Favicons used to behave erratically, but I think those days are gone?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Jun 29 2020, 04:47 PM
Post #6


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



Problem solved!!!

After clearing the cache you need to restart the browser.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th July 2020 - 02:21 AM