The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V « < 2 3 4  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Task manager tries to connect to the internet
Christian J
post Jan 18 2024, 07:29 AM
Post #61


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,623
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 18 2024, 04:14 AM) *

QUOTE
No idea, FWIW I've only used it to monitor traffic, not block.


So I can tun off some features? I'll try it tomorrow.

Maybe blocking requires the paid version, can't remember.


QUOTE
QUOTE
Could it be that one of your old apps has changed owner, and a recent update by the new owner has changed its functionality?


I don't think so. It was among "recently installed" or what it's called.

No I meant that one of the old trusted apps may have changed owner, and the new owner sends an update that makes it install more apps. I recall some apps may have permission for that (outrageous as it sounds), not sure.

QUOTE
It just splat open from nowhere.

It wasn't some kind of overlay screen from another app?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 18 2024, 05:58 PM
Post #62


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,713
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE
No I meant that one of the old trusted apps may have changed owner, and the new owner sends an update that makes it install more apps. I recall some apps may have permission for that (outrageous as it sounds), not sure.


Didn't know that.

QUOTE

It wasn't some kind of overlay screen from another app?


No. It was among recently installed apps.

I haven't got a single file in systemprofile today either. I haven't done anything that can have put an end to it.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 18 2024, 07:33 PM
Post #63


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,623
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 18 2024, 11:58 PM) *

QUOTE
No I meant that one of the old trusted apps may have changed owner, and the new owner sends an update that makes it install more apps. I recall some apps may have permission for that (outrageous as it sounds), not sure.


Didn't know that.

It's likely not permitted by Google Play generally, but maybe Google's control is inefficient (especially for updates).

Not sure if this is tells everything, but if you go to:

CODE
Settings > Apps & Notifications > Advanced > Special App Access > Install unknown apps

the listed apps should have their permissions shown (none allowed in my case).

unsure.gif



User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 19 2024, 01:44 AM
Post #64


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,713
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



None? Don't you use your phone for anything?

I never checked. Just uninstalled it. The permission choices are so limited they feel like bogus anyway.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 19 2024, 08:13 AM
Post #65


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,623
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 19 2024, 07:44 AM) *

None? Don't you use your phone for anything?

It's (allegedly) a list of apps that are allowed to install other apps, of course I don't allow that. cool.gif Or maybe "unknown" means apps outside the Play store?

QUOTE
I never checked. Just uninstalled it.

I meant maybe you can see which of your old apps that had permission to install Bigo Live. That old app should still be in the list.

QUOTE
The permission choices are so limited they feel like bogus anyway.

Yeah, under "Special app access" the summary on my phone says "1 app can use unrestricted data", but in the actual list no app like that is shown, not even when I enable "Show system". Seems reassuring. wacko.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 19 2024, 09:53 PM
Post #66


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,713
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Where do you find that list? I'm only aware of the ridiculously few and unspecific permissions for individual apps.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 20 2024, 05:52 AM
Post #67


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,713
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Today systemprofile filled up again.

I made a mistake about the time stamps. I orignally hade files from early 2023 until now. So I thought that was the dates the files were copied to that folder and showed how long this has been going on. Most of today's files have a time stamp from this morning, but a bunch of them are much older, the oldest from 2012! So in reality I have no idea when it started.

I have 8 copies of the one from 2012, all of them have the same time stamp, to the second. The file doesn't exist elsewhere on the computer. It's a freaking DHL logo.

Gaaah! IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 20 2024, 08:18 AM
Post #68


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,623
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 20 2024, 03:53 AM) *

Where do you find that list? I'm only aware of the ridiculously few and unspecific permissions for individual apps.

Where I wrote above. You may have to scroll down to the bottom a couple of times.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 20 2024, 08:20 AM
Post #69


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,623
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 20 2024, 11:52 AM) *

It's a freaking DHL logo.

Maybe it comes from an email? Either an email that has later been deleted, or maybe the image was hosted remotely before being copied to Windows.

The attachment didn't work. mellow.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 21 2024, 12:59 AM
Post #70


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,713
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Christian J @ Jan 20 2024, 02:18 PM) *

QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 20 2024, 03:53 AM) *

Where do you find that list? I'm only aware of the ridiculously few and unspecific permissions for individual apps.

Where I wrote above. You may have to scroll down to the bottom a couple of times.


Ooo. Sorry. I didn't see that. Yes, I have it too. FF was allowed and Files by Google. Turned them off. Thank you.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 21 2024, 01:02 AM
Post #71


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,713
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Christian J @ Jan 20 2024, 02:20 PM) *

Maybe it comes from an email? Either an email that has later been deleted, or maybe the image was hosted remotely before being copied to Windows.

Yes, everything does. Attachments, embedded pictures, eml files...

QUOTE

The attachment didn't work. mellow.gif


I know. It was just the GIF. I uploaded it elsewhere but forgot to remove the attachment here. blush.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

4 Pages V « < 2 3 4
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th February 2024 - 04:11 AM