The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Image not showing up in HTML
throwaway
post Jan 10 2017, 06:51 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-January 17
Member No.: 26,261



Hi, absolute beginner to HTML here. Trying to get a simple website up but images aren't loading. Here is the webpage for reference: http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~gpc001/examples.html

Thank you for any help.

I've tried all of these formats for my picture (diff file names but all same picture):

<img src=“pr1.gif”>
<img src=“pracprob1.png”>
<img src=“http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~gpc001/pracprob1.png”>
<img src=“http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~gpc001/pracprob1.png”>
<img src="images/irTRAUW.gif">
<img src="images/irTRAUW.gif" />
<img src="../images/irTRAUW.gif" />
<img src="/images/irTRAUW.gif" />

"http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~gpc001/pracprob1.png" (and other file paths) shows up when I enter it in the address bar but it fails when I put it in the <img....> or <a href=...> format.

Public html folder: IPB Image



Images folder: IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
throwaway
post Jan 10 2017, 06:53 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-January 17
Member No.: 26,261



Edit:
Using Safari, Mac version 10.###

Here's the HTML code for reference (still super basic, just trying to get past this image problem before attempting anything else).

<!DOCTYPE html>

<style>
li {
display:inline;
padding: 10px;
}
</style>

<body>
<center>
<h3>Try the problem first, then click the solution.</h3>

<nav>
<ul>
<li><a href="http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~gpc001/">Home</a></li>
<li><a href=“solutions.html">AP Calculus Exam Solutions</a></li>
<li><strong><a href="examples.html">Practice Problems</a></strong></li>
<li><a href="misc.html">Helpful Resources</a></li>
<li><a href="contact.html">Contact Mr. Calculus</a></li>
</ul>
</nav>


<table>
<tr>
<th>Problem</th>
<th>Solution</th>
</tr>
<tr>
<th>Maximum length of a ladder able to go around a corner in a hallway <br>

<style type="text/css">
/* animated spoiler CSS by Bloggersentral.com */
.spoilerbutton {display:block;margin:5px 0;}
.spoiler {overflow:hidden;background: #f5f5f5;}
.spoiler > div {-webkit-transition: all 0.2s ease;-moz-transition: margin 0.2s ease;-o-transition: all 0.2s ease;transition: margin 0.2s ease;}
.spoilerbutton[value="Show"] + .spoiler > div {margin-top:-100%;}
.spoilerbutton[value="Hide"] + .spoiler {padding:5px;}
</style>

<input class="spoilerbutton" type="button" value="Show" onclick="this.value=this.value=='Show'?'Hide':'Show';">
<div class="spoiler"><div>
<img src=“images/irTRAUW.gif”>
</div></div>

</th>
<th>Solution</th>
</tr>
</table>

<img src=“http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~gpc001/pracprob1.png”>
</center>

</body>

This post has been edited by throwaway: Jan 10 2017, 06:58 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 10 2017, 08:42 PM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,661
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(throwaway @ Jan 11 2017, 12:51 AM) *

<img src=“pr1.gif”>
<img src=“pracprob1.png”>
<img src=“http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~gpc001/pracprob1.png”>
<img src=“http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~gpc001/pracprob1.png”>

The above uses the wrong kinds of doublequote characters. Avoid using an editor that inserts those.

CODE
<img src="images/irTRAUW.gif">
<img src="images/irTRAUW.gif" />

The above seems correct.

CODE
<img src="../images/irTRAUW.gif" />
<img src="/images/irTRAUW.gif" />

The above seems to use wrong image paths. See also http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/basics.html#relative-url
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
throwaway
post Jan 10 2017, 09:32 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-January 17
Member No.: 26,261



Oh my god I thought the problem was with the file path all along. I spent hours trying to fix it and it ended up being the quotation marks. TextEdit was converting my quotes to the wrong ones even though it was set to Plain Text, but I've fixed it now. Thank you for noticing!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th April 2024 - 10:08 AM