The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> no-cache, no-cache
t-a-g
post Apr 25 2007, 10:32 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 6-September 06
Member No.: 78



I have an asp page that MUST be reloaded from the server EVERY TIME.
The other pages in the website can be cached so I do not want to set any site wide settings.

I have added the following to the top of the page:
Response.ExpiresAbsolute = Now() - 1
Response.AddHeader "Cache-Control", "must-revalidate"
Response.AddHeader "Cache-Control", "no-cache"
Response.AddHeader "Pragma", "no-cache"
Response.Expires = -1

When I click away from the page and then click the "back" button, the page MUST reload from the server.
With IE6, IE7 the page reloads from the server.
With Firefox (Pc/MAC), and Safari the page does not reload.

Since I do not access to all of the users browsers, I can not change the settings on the browser.

What do I have to do to FOURCE the page to be reloaded from the SERVER EVERYTIME reguardless of the user's browser?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Effovex
post Apr 25 2007, 10:36 AM
Post #2


Serious Coder
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 6-January 07
From: Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Member No.: 1,477



That's normal. You can't make it happen. IE is the only browser that doesn't maintain page state when pressing the back button, and they're probably going against a standard in doing so. AFAIK must-revalidate only works on HTTPS page.

Edit: see this post from an Opera developer

This post has been edited by Effovex: Apr 25 2007, 10:41 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 25 2007, 11:32 AM
Post #3


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



For starters, "force" doesn't work on the WWW.

Besides, even without the back button, I can open a link in a new window, and then switch back and forth between the two windows. What's the difference between that and using my brower's history to do the same thing?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th May 2024 - 02:45 PM