The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Background color in Navigation bar
alang
post Jun 10 2009, 06:22 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-June 09
Member No.: 8,849



Hi,

I have a website that has a navigation bar on the left hand side, the background color of which is Orange. I have added some HTML code (<img> tag) to place a .gif file beneath the bottom button of this navigation panel. I have placed to <br/> tags to add some blank space beneath the last navigation button and hte .gif file itself.

However, where these blank lines appear, the colouring is black, rather than the Orange that I desire, plus, the blank space around the gif file inserted via the <img> tag is also black.

Is there a way I can change this so that it matches the background color of the panel they are located within?

Cheers.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 10 2009, 08:04 AM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Probably, but we need to see what you have. Can you post the URL to the page?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
alang
post Jun 11 2009, 04:02 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-June 09
Member No.: 8,849



QUOTE(pandy @ Jun 10 2009, 02:04 PM) *

Probably, but we need to see what you have. Can you post the URL to the page?



Hi, the URL to my page is http://londontaxi.proboards.com, however you won't see the image at the moment because I don't want it to go 'live' until I have this issue sorted. But you will see the navigation bar to the left and it is beneath these buttons I'm inserting the image. The screenshot below will illustrate what happens when I put in the code to insert the image, you will notice the lines (inserted using <br> tags) between the nav buttons and the image are black, as is the image background (the image looks a bit weird in this screenshot because its an animated gif and I caught it "mid-spin"!).

IPB Image


The code I entered to insert this image is as follows:

QUOTE
<br />
<br />
<img height="0" src="http://www.londontaxiforum.co.uk/images/123SEND_3.gif" align="absmiddle" hspace="6" vspace="0" alt="123Send" style="WIDTH: 141px; HEIGHT: 226px" width="0"/>
<br />


One thing to mention is because this page hosts a Proboards Messageboard site, the actual code I'm inserting is inside my Proboards 'Global Header' so that when the proboards page loads, it re-creates the look and feel of my own website (http://www.londontaxiforum.co.uk) which is hosted/created in Office Live. So effectively when I do something like this I have to do it twice, once in Office Live, then again in my Global Header of my Proboards forum so that it is recreated when that page is loaded. Make sense? So I have the image inserted and working perfect in the pages that Office Live displays, but when the Proboards forum page is loaded, the code in the proboards Global Header takes care of displaying this stuff. So thats why I'm having to insert this code in the first place! Confused? You will be!!! blink.gif

Hope this all makes sense and really hope you can help, any more info you need, please ask.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 11 2009, 06:50 AM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Well, I still can't see what you wrote to make it go wrong so I'm going to guess. You have oodles of table cells with different classes. If you put the image in the TD where it says "ad code here", the background would be black because that's the background color you have specified in your style sheet for the class 'MSC_PrimaryNavTopSpace'.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
alang
post Jun 12 2009, 05:22 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-June 09
Member No.: 8,849



QUOTE(pandy @ Jun 11 2009, 12:50 PM) *

Well, I still can't see what you wrote to make it go wrong so I'm going to guess. You have oodles of table cells with different classes. If you put the image in the TD where it says "ad code here", the background would be black because that's the background color you have specified in your style sheet for the class 'MSC_PrimaryNavTopSpace'.



Yes, that is where the code was placed, at the recommendation of one of the Proboards support staff. So do I need to place the img declaration in a different position in the code? Or is it a case of changing the bg color spec for the class 'MSC_PrimaryNavTopSpace'? If so, where is this declared?

Sorry, I'm new to this code (former Delphi developer many moons ago), so I'm feeling my way a bit here!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
alang
post Jun 12 2009, 07:13 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-June 09
Member No.: 8,849



Pandy, I think I've resolved this now. I just needed to change the class declaration prior to the insertion of the ad to 'MS_MasterLeftNav' and this resolves the bg color issue.

Thanks for all your help, much appreciated.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 12 2009, 09:47 AM
Post #7


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Have you just got this layout somewhere? A template or something? You need to understand a little about HTML and CSS or you will get in a jam every time you try to change something.

QUOTE
Yes, that is where the code was placed, at the recommendation of one of the Proboards support staff. So do I need to place the img declaration in a different position in the code?

No, you need to use another background color for that TD.


QUOTE
Or is it a case of changing the bg color spec for the class 'MSC_PrimaryNavTopSpace'?


No, because that class is used for several TDs and maybe other things. Make a new class for this TD.

QUOTE
If so, where is this declared?


In one of your style sheets. You find links to them in head section of the HTML.

Read this: http://htmlhelp.com/reference/css/ .
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th April 2024 - 12:03 PM