The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> CSS/HTML code not working in FireFox..., but working in Internet Explorer
Darin McGrew
post Jul 3 2008, 04:49 PM
Post #21


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Part of the confusion is that you're pulling in //spreadsheets.google.com/client/css/159550030-trix_main.css as well as providing your own inline style sheet.

This row is funny.
CODE
<tr><td class=hd><p style='height:33px;'>.</td>

<td colspan=5 class='g s0'>Extreme Championship Wrestling</td>


<td class='g' style='display:none;'><td class='g' style='display:none;'><td class='g' style='display:none;'><td class='g' style='display:none;'>
The Google style sheet hides the content in td.hd p.

Your style sheet sets the background color of .g to white and sets the (foreground) color of .s0 to white, but it should also set the background color of .s0 to #333399.

Ah... but you also specify a white background with a style attribute for an enclosing div element. And that has specificity equal to the specificity of an id selector, so it overrides the other rules.

PS: I moved the thread back.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 3 2008, 05:36 PM
Post #22


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(echris1015 @ Jul 3 2008, 11:15 PM) *

Yeah, that hasn't changed. The first, second, and third are supposed to have colors. You started copy/pasting with fourth row on the page, which is white.


I went for the visible rows. Sorry, I realize that was kinda stupid.


QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Jul 3 2008, 11:49 PM) *

PS: I moved the thread back.


Where did it go? wacko.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
echris1015
post Jul 3 2008, 05:40 PM
Post #23


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 3-July 08
Member No.: 6,052



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Jul 3 2008, 05:49 PM) *

Part of the confusion is that you're pulling in //spreadsheets.google.com/client/css/159550030-trix_main.css as well as providing your own inline style sheet.

This row is funny.
CODE
<tr><td class=hd><p style='height:33px;'>.</td>

<td colspan=5 class='g s0'>Extreme Championship Wrestling</td>


<td class='g' style='display:none;'><td class='g' style='display:none;'><td class='g' style='display:none;'><td class='g' style='display:none;'>
The Google style sheet hides the content in td.hd p.

Your style sheet sets the background color of .g to white and sets the (foreground) color of .s0 to white, but it should also set the background color of .s0 to #333399.

Ah... but you also specify a white background with a style attribute for an enclosing div element. And that has specificity equal to the specificity of an id selector, so it overrides the other rules.

PS: I moved the thread back.


I'm officially confused.

I've tried replacing/deleting the Google .css I was using, but it throws the table way off. Well, not way off, but it changes the text, borders, and final columns all off. I'm guessing I'm using part code from this sheet and part code from my own sheet and it doesn't interact too well. Hmm.

I tried finding the white background specified for the enclosing dv element, but I couldn't find that line of code. It sounds like if I can find that line of code and change it or delete it, it would stop overriding the other code I've written.

I set the background colors of both the .g and the .s0 to 333399, no change.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 3 2008, 05:53 PM
Post #24


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE(pandy @ Jul 3 2008, 03:36 PM) *
I went for the visible rows. Sorry, I realize that was kinda stupid.
I looked at the source. When I saw the row that wasn't appearing in the browser, I used Ctrl-A to select (and highlight) everything.

QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Jul 3 2008, 11:49 PM) *
PS: I moved the thread back.
QUOTE(pandy @ Jul 3 2008, 03:36 PM) *
Where did it go? wacko.gif
I had moved it to the "Jobs Seeking Programmers" because it looked like the OP just wanted someone to do the work.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 3 2008, 05:56 PM
Post #25


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE(echris1015 @ Jul 3 2008, 03:40 PM) *
I've tried replacing/deleting the Google .css I was using, but it throws the table way off. Well, not way off, but it changes the text, borders, and final columns all off. I'm guessing I'm using part code from this sheet and part code from my own sheet and it doesn't interact too well. Hmm.
There's a lot of magic in that style sheet. The content of the first column of every row is hidden, for example.

QUOTE(echris1015 @ Jul 3 2008, 03:40 PM) *
I tried finding the white background specified for the enclosing dv element, but I couldn't find that line of code.
It looks like this:
CODE
<div id="content" style="background-color: #FFFFFF;">
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
echris1015
post Jul 3 2008, 06:07 PM
Post #26


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 3-July 08
Member No.: 6,052





I was hoping that wasn't the div element you were talking about. I had already changed the color to 333399 and got no change, so I was hoping there was another that I missed.

I'm guessing the .css sheet I'm linked to contains the code that is overriding, because all of the applicable colors that are coded to show up in those first three rows are now set to 3333999 (or the shade of gray for the second row).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
echris1015
post Jul 3 2008, 06:27 PM
Post #27


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 3-July 08
Member No.: 6,052



QUOTE(echris1015 @ Jul 3 2008, 07:07 PM) *

I was hoping that wasn't the div element you were talking about. I had already changed the color to 333399 and got no change, so I was hoping there was another that I missed.

I'm guessing the .css sheet I'm linked to contains the code that is overriding, because all of the applicable colors that are coded to show up in those first three rows are now set to 3333999 (or the shade of gray for the second row).


Yep, its something in the code I had linked, going to be a long day trying to find it.

I got rid of the link and copied the contents of the .css file into Word - then replaced all the FFF colors with another color and all of the backgrounds where that new color I had put into the Google Docs code.

So, one of those lines of codes with an fff color was overriding the code I had on there. Going to be a long day, though, to find out what I can and can't use from that Google Docs code.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
echris1015
post Jul 3 2008, 07:02 PM
Post #28


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 3-July 08
Member No.: 6,052




Fixed. Thanks!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Brian Chandler
post Jul 4 2008, 02:40 AM
Post #29


Jocular coder
********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,460
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 43



Quick question: Are CSS class names _really_ allowed to include spaces?

(Cancel that: I guess that this is how to specify two classes in one go. How ugly.)

This post has been edited by Brian Chandler: Jul 4 2008, 02:44 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jul 4 2008, 03:14 AM
Post #30


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



The only HTML error you still have is a closing </div> tag at the end of the code which has no opening <div> tag. Just get rid of it if the DIV has no real purpose.

This post has been edited by Frederiek: Jul 4 2008, 03:15 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
echris1015
post Jul 4 2008, 11:00 AM
Post #31


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 3-July 08
Member No.: 6,052



QUOTE(Frederiek @ Jul 4 2008, 04:14 AM) *

The only HTML error you still have is a closing </div> tag at the end of the code which has no opening <div> tag. Just get rid of it if the DIV has no real purpose.


Yep, I know. Thanks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 4 2008, 02:46 PM
Post #32


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Brian Chandler @ Jul 4 2008, 09:40 AM) *

Quick question: Are CSS class names _really_ allowed to include spaces?

No.
http://www.w3.org/TR/html401/struct/global.html#adef-class
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

2 Pages V < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th April 2024 - 12:31 AM