The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HTML coding for languages
classyred
post Aug 14 2011, 09:02 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-August 11
Member No.: 15,178



Hi, I starting going to college for Graphic Communications and one of my many interests is web design. I am making a website and I have no idea how to create code for the html that allows visitors on the site to click on different given languages and change the language the site is seen in.

I looked some information up on this and it was really complicated and involved code I've never seen or know how to use...

I was wondering if someone could explain it to me and or show me how this can be done step by step.

Thanks A LOT!!!!

smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 14 2011, 09:27 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Are we talking about static pages that you are going to create in several languages? If so, just link to the other language versions.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
classyred
post Aug 14 2011, 09:30 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-August 11
Member No.: 15,178



I'm not quite sure. Sorry. I was trying to figure out how to actually do it with html or something on a website.
By like... listing the languages in small fonts and enabling visitors to click them to change the language they clicked... Sorry if that isn't helpful.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Aug 14 2011, 11:11 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Well, one way is to have different versions of the HTML files, and to link between them. For example:
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/ (English)
http://www.htmlhelp.com/nl/faq/html/ (Nederlands)
http://www.htmlhelp.com/fr/faq/html/ (Français)

Another is to drive everything from a database, and to produce different content from the database. For example:
http://www.google.com/webhp?hl=en (English)
http://www.google.com/webhp?hl=nl (Nederlands)
http://www.google.com/webhp?hl=fr (Français)
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
classyred
post Aug 15 2011, 04:36 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-August 11
Member No.: 15,178



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Aug 14 2011, 11:11 PM) *

Well, one way is to have different versions of the HTML files, and to link between them. For example:
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/ (English)
http://www.htmlhelp.com/nl/faq/html/ (Nederlands)
http://www.htmlhelp.com/fr/faq/html/ (Français)

Another is to drive everything from a database, and to produce different content from the database. For example:
http://www.google.com/webhp?hl=en (English)
http://www.google.com/webhp?hl=nl (Nederlands)
http://www.google.com/webhp?hl=fr (Français)


Thanks, the first method is probably the easiest one for me to use, though it probably takes longer.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 15 2011, 06:44 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Then you just need to link to your translations. I don't think that it necessarily is more work. You need to write the translation either way.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Aug 16 2011, 03:30 AM
Post #7


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



It's the easiest way if you don't know PHP. The site has to be copied for as many different laguages as there will be. It's quite a hassle to go into every page and make translations there. Using PHP, you'd have one file for each language and only add the translations there.

If you want to look into a PHP way, try searching for "php multilingual website". One of te results explains it quite well: http://www.bitrepository.com/php-how-to-ad...-a-website.html .
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
raydin
post Aug 16 2011, 06:35 AM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 13-August 11
Member No.: 15,164



It's not that hard using PHP. You use GET variables " Variables that are in the links" to change the languages around.

Then, you tell your website to get a specific file if a specific language " the variable" is there.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Brian Chandler
post Aug 16 2011, 02:27 PM
Post #9


Jocular coder
********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,460
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 43



QUOTE(Frederiek @ Aug 16 2011, 05:30 PM) *

It's the easiest way if you don't know PHP. The site has to be copied for as many different laguages as there will be. It's quite a hassle to go into every page and make translations there. Using PHP, you'd have one file for each language and only add the translations there.

If you want to look into a PHP way, try searching for "php multilingual website". One of te results explains it quite well: http://www.bitrepository.com/php-how-to-ad...-a-website.html .


I think the method outlined on that page is completely impractical, unless your entire website consists of pages with about six phrases each. Having an array called $lang that might just have completely different values seems backwards to me at least.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th April 2024 - 08:37 PM