The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Currency now showing as �
GMC123
post Oct 13 2019, 07:39 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-October 19
Member No.: 27,012



Since doing a server upgrade the currency sign on our website no longer shows £ instead showing �. I am quite inexperienced as a web developer and cannot work out what to do to correct it
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 13 2019, 11:31 AM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,421
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It sounds like a character encoding mismatch. It happens if a document for example is saved as ANSI but served as UTF-8 or vice versa. A little mysterious though since £ is among the safe characters that are encoded the same in both character sets.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Oct 13 2019, 10:01 PM
Post #3


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,316
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE(pandy @ Oct 13 2019, 09:31 AM) *
It sounds like a character encoding mismatch. It happens if a document for example is saved as ANSI but served as UTF-8 or vice versa. A little mysterious though since £ is among the safe characters that are encoded the same in both character sets.
Could it be a problem with a document that uses an 8-bit encoding being served with a 16-bit encoding, or vice versa?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 14 2019, 05:35 AM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,421
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Must be that. But since the files were already up there, I guess it must be the server that sends 16-bit. That can hardly be the factory setting. Is this a shared account GMC123 or do you use your own server?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Ivy Crawford
post Nov 4 2019, 06:02 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 4-November 19
Member No.: 27,030



Hi! Can you specify which server you use? Is it your own one?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic (3 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th November 2019 - 09:50 AM