Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HTML or XHTML?, that is my question.
James
post Jul 20 2008, 12:36 AM
Post #1

Advanced Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 269

I am no expert on doctype definitions so when building Web pages I usually paste this into the top of my document:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">

and stick to the HTML 4.01 specification rules.

When validating my HTML I note that, assuming I have made no silly mistakes, the WDG Validator reports no errors, but the w3c validator, while reporting no major errors, it does issue some warnings, and complains about missing information.

I note that some notable sites, where you would expect good programming, have something like this:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

QUESTION #1
Is it time to switch to XHTML? ... or ... would that find us writing code which might not work on older browsers?

QUESTION #2
What exactly do "transitional.dtd" and "strict.dtd" mean?
I have always assumed that 'transitional' will allow some features of the previous version to be coded in the old way, without throwing up an error on validation, whereas I assumed the 'strict' meant you had to stick strictly to the new specification or your document would fail validation. Am I correct, or way off the mark?

Many thanks, James
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 20 2008, 01:17 AM
Post #2

WDG Member

Group: Root Admin
Member No.: 3

Is it time to switch to XHTML? ... or ... would that find us writing code which might not work on older browsers?