The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help with code layout / structure in my simple HTML table, Connecting internal css to the relevant table column
Stendec
post Nov 2 2020, 10:30 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 27,612

I am a complete novice in anything to do with HTML and the like. I literally started just a few days ago. I stumbled across this forum and I very much hope that you kind experts will be able to assist me with my problem.

I inherited the code below (which was provided as a sample template). It's purpose is to display some fields of data (that are output by a tagging program) and display those data in simple table.

I was totally daunted when I first opened up the html document, but I somehow managed to adjust the table headings to suit my requirements and insert the code to populate the table columns with the correct data, and it all works perfectly.

However, some of the data fields can be quite long, and rather than have a very wide scrollable page, I found some html examples that allow you to truncate the text with ellipses so that the table does not get too wide and fits within the desired window width. I inserted this html, and after a bit of trial and error I got the truncation working too.

But I would like to be able to see the full text that has been truncated when mousing over that area of the table. I did some more searching and found a web page with 3 excellent examples of how to achieve this effect with different tooltips: 1. full text tooltip, 2. jump to end of text, and 3. scroll text.