The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Complete HTML newbie needs help re open folder
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 09:41 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



Hi all, first post here, please be gentle.

I'm a photographer and for some years I have been supplying clients with CD-Rom's of jpeg pictures.

On insertion of the disc I have the autorun file start up index.htm on the default browser on which are thumbnail shots that can be enlarged upon clicking. No problem there. It paginates fine and I can even do a simple slideshow.

A couple of years ago one of my clients asked me if I could place a link on the index page that would open a folder showing the high resolution files that were also on the CD, that they could then use for prints etc, rather than have to trawl through Explorer to find the files (not that some of them even knew how to do that)

I found this code and put it on the main index page:

<a href=".\Hi-Res/">Click here for folder containing high resolution files, for printing etc.</a>

Which, if I placed a folder called Hi-Res on the CD disc in the root directory worked well, on clicking a list of the high res files was shown.

But now this doesn't work on my clients new network system, I have no idea why, but it doesn't. Even though the disc is in the pc the high res folder won't open. Still works fine on my personal pc though

Is there a better way to do this, assuming I don't know what browser anyone will be using and that they might be on some sort of network and not a standalone pc??

Any help greatly appreciated, I have no idea how to accomplish this

David, UK
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 1 2014, 10:48 AM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,276
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 04:41 PM) *

CODE
<a href=".\Hi-Res/">


Backslashes only work in the Windows file system with MSIE. You could use

CODE
./Hi-Res/

instead, but just

CODE
Hi-Res/

should work too.

See also http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/basics.html#relative-url
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 10:55 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



Thanks for the reply.

The client doesn't work with a Mac, could this be upsetting the business Windows network? Is it a reason why it wouldn't work?

The original version I have been using works fine with Firefox.

Which would you say is the safest & most likely to work in this circumstance?

David

This post has been edited by dhphoto: May 1 2014, 11:12 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 1 2014, 12:03 PM
Post #4


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,276
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 05:55 PM) *

The client doesn't work with a Mac, could this be upsetting the business Windows network? Is it a reason why it wouldn't work?

Not sure what you meant there. unsure.gif

QUOTE
Which would you say is the safest & most likely to work in this circumstance?

My example should work for everybody.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post May 1 2014, 12:05 PM
Post #5


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



I'm not clear what kind of server arrangement is this?

A web server, intranet, or client machine?

Or is this a webpage that exists on a CD-ROM?

This post has been edited by jimlongo: May 1 2014, 12:06 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 12:08 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



QUOTE(Christian J @ May 1 2014, 06:03 PM) *

QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 05:55 PM) *

The client doesn't work with a Mac, could this be upsetting the business Windows network? Is it a reason why it wouldn't work?

Not sure what you meant there. unsure.gif

QUOTE
Which would you say is the safest & most likely to work in this circumstance?

My example should work for everybody.


Hi again, you mentioned the Windows file system with MSIE, the most likely alternative would be a Mac wouldn't it? My HTML has always worked with standalone Windows PC's perhaps it might not work with Mac's is what I meant

When you say your example, do you mean ./Hi-Res/ or Hi-Res/ would be the best option for me to use?

This post has been edited by dhphoto: May 1 2014, 12:14 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 12:14 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



QUOTE(jimlongo @ May 1 2014, 06:05 PM) *

I'm not clear what kind of server arrangement is this?

A web server, intranet, or client machine?

Or is this a webpage that exists on a CD-ROM?


The webpage doesn't 'exist' on CD-Rom, I'm just using some HTML to fire up the user's browser when a CD is inserted to show an index page with photo thumbnails. This seemed the best way to do this without knowing what software was installed on the users computer as they all have some sort of browser. I used HTML web gallery code from a program I use all the time - Breezebrowser Pro

The client (a big multinational) now has a very complex 'intranet' with hundreds of computers linked and all with internet access, I have no idea what the actual config is, its none of my business. I just know they used to be able to access the high res files on my discs in theor pc's and now they can't. As the files on the discs haven't changed something at their end must have.

As I said this is not my area of expertise!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post May 1 2014, 12:28 PM
Post #8


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



Have you checked support for your product at http://www.breezesys.com/support.htm ?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 12:33 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



QUOTE(jimlongo @ May 1 2014, 06:28 PM) *

Have you checked support for your product at http://www.breezesys.com/support.htm ?


The code in question is a bit I added on for my specific purpose, it's not Breezebrowzer's code

This post has been edited by dhphoto: May 1 2014, 12:49 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 1 2014, 12:51 PM
Post #10


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,276
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 07:08 PM) *

My HTML has always worked with standalone Windows PC's perhaps it might not work with Mac's is what I meant

Yes, that's my theory too.

QUOTE
When you say your example, do you mean ./Hi-Res/ or Hi-Res/ would be the best option for me to use?

Yes.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 12:54 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



QUOTE(Christian J @ May 1 2014, 06:51 PM) *

QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 07:08 PM) *

My HTML has always worked with standalone Windows PC's perhaps it might not work with Mac's is what I meant

Yes, that's my theory too.

QUOTE
When you say your example, do you mean ./Hi-Res/ or Hi-Res/ would be the best option for me to use?

Yes.


Is that supposed to help me?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post May 1 2014, 12:56 PM
Post #12


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



A CD-ROM should be universal.
Look into the burning software you're using on how to do that.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 01:02 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



QUOTE(jimlongo @ May 1 2014, 06:56 PM) *

A CD-ROM should be universal.
Look into the burning software you're using on how to do that.


If you take the time to read the original post you will see the issue, which isn't with the CD-Rom, but how a browser interprets a single line of HTML. I thought I made that pretty clear
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post May 1 2014, 01:04 PM
Post #14


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,125
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



The issue is with how the CD-ROM is interpreted.
What you've made clear is that I shouldn't try to help any more.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 01:11 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



QUOTE(jimlongo @ May 1 2014, 07:04 PM) *

The issue is with how the CD-ROM is interpreted.
What you've made clear is that I shouldn't try to help any more.


Agreed
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 1 2014, 01:48 PM
Post #16


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,276
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 07:54 PM) *

QUOTE(Christian J @ May 1 2014, 06:51 PM) *

QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 07:08 PM) *

My HTML has always worked with standalone Windows PC's perhaps it might not work with Mac's is what I meant

Yes, that's my theory too.

QUOTE
When you say your example, do you mean ./Hi-Res/ or Hi-Res/ would be the best option for me to use?

Yes.


Is that supposed to help me?

Well, yes: problems with backslashes occur on non-Windows OS (such as a Mac), and the solution should be to use either ./Hi-Res/ or Hi-Res/ as the link URL (both should give the same result).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
dhphoto
post May 1 2014, 01:56 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-May 14
Member No.: 20,805



QUOTE(Christian J @ May 1 2014, 07:48 PM) *

QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 07:54 PM) *

QUOTE(Christian J @ May 1 2014, 06:51 PM) *

QUOTE(dhphoto @ May 1 2014, 07:08 PM) *

My HTML has always worked with standalone Windows PC's perhaps it might not work with Mac's is what I meant

Yes, that's my theory too.

QUOTE
When you say your example, do you mean ./Hi-Res/ or Hi-Res/ would be the best option for me to use?

Yes.


Is that supposed to help me?

Well, yes: problems with backslashes occur on non-Windows OS (such as a Mac), and the solution should be to use either ./Hi-Res/ or Hi-Res/ as the link URL (both should give the same result).


Excellent, that's what I needed to know - that one isn't more likely to work than the other.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th January 2020 - 09:52 PM