The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie needs help with php script for contact form
Charlie Mathews
post Jan 24 2010, 03:08 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-January 10
Member No.: 10,906



Hi everyone,

Hoping I can get some help here. My website for sound design is http://www.cogworksentertainment.com I've nearly finished making it, and I've put a contact form in the contact page. I took the html code for the contact form from a template. I don't have a php script to make the form work though, and try as I might, I just don't have the html and php knowledge to make it work - my understanding of html is very basic, and of php its nonexistent! I'm pasting the html code of the form below in the hope that someone could provide me with a working php script to use, and tell me what to edit on the form, and where to put the script on the server. I know thats basically asking you to do it all for me, but I'm getting pretty desperate now, and could really use some assistance! Many thanks
Charlie Mathews (html follows)

</ul>
<div id="content-box">
<div class="inner">
<div class="line-ver">
<div class="wrapper">
<div class="col-1">
<h2>CONTACT FORM</h2>
<form action="contact.php" id="contact-form">
<div class="wrapper">
<label>
<input type="text" value="Name:" onblur="if(this.value=='') this.value='Your Name:'" onfocus="if(this.value =='Your Name:' ) this.value=''" />
</label>
<label>
<input type="text" value="E-mail:" onblur="if(this.value=='') this.value='E-mail:'" onfocus="if(this.value =='E-mail:' ) this.value=''" />
</label>
<textarea rows="" cols="" onblur="if(this.value=='') this.value='Message:'" onfocus="if(this.value =='Message:' ) this.value=''">Message:</textarea>
<div class="clear"></div>
<a href="#" onclick="document.getElementById('contact-form').submit()">send >></a> <a href="#" onclick="document.getElementById('contact-form').reset()">clear >></a> </div>
</form>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 24 2010, 05:39 PM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,661
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Doesn't your web host offer some kind of contact form script?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Charlie Mathews
post Jan 24 2010, 06:09 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-January 10
Member No.: 10,906



QUOTE(Christian J @ Jan 24 2010, 10:39 PM) *

Doesn't your web host offer some kind of contact form script?


I'm not sure. Its fasthosts and I really am new to this, just trying to get some advice but I realize I may not be making a whole lot of sense.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 24 2010, 09:07 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



There are lots of free form scripts (as well as paid). Just try to verify (google and ask around) that the script isn't a known security risk.
http://www.hotscripts.com/category/php/scr...orm-processors/

You also need method and enctype attributes ('multipart/form-data' is the usual value for enctype).
http://htmlhelp.com/reference/html40/forms/form.html

Since you have copied the form I guess you don't have no real desire to use JavaScript to submit it. I'd remove that and use a normal submit button. That will always work. You can only hope that JavaScript will, so to depend on it isn't a good thing.
http://htmlhelp.com/reference/html40/forms/input.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jan 25 2010, 03:00 AM
Post #5


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Try http://green-beast.com/gbcf-v3/.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Charlie Mathews
post Jan 25 2010, 06:12 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-January 10
Member No.: 10,906



Haha, its a bit pathetic, but I don't really even understand the help you've given me, but thanks anyway. I'm thinking maybe I need to have more basic knowledge, but to get my site working I think I'm going to need to find someone who can do it for me!

QUOTE(Frederiek @ Jan 25 2010, 08:00 AM) *

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 25 2010, 08:37 PM
Post #7


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Maybe this helps explain the basics, where the script comes in.
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/#formstoc
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th April 2024 - 05:31 AM