The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> filling default value in forms, Hown to place the value of a server variable as default value of a tex
pmgraaf
post Jan 18 2010, 09:07 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 10,854

hi, I am new to web designing and I am looking for a better solution to my problem then the one that have come up with so far.

This is what I want to build:
I need a page that displays the current values of variables on my server in a form input text fields. The user is then able to change one of all the values and post them back to the server. the page should then be updated with the new values of the server variables.

This is what I have build myself:

<html>
<head>
<title>Params</title>
</head>

<body>

<form name="Params" action="Params.shtml" method="GET" target="_self">

<input type="text" name="IP1" size="1" maxlength="3" value="%! IP1 ! />
<input type="text" name="IP2" size="1" maxlength="3" value="%! IP2 ! />
<input type="text" name="IP3" size="1" maxlength="3" value="%! IP3 ! />
<input type="text" name="IP4" size="1" maxlength="3" value=%! IP4 ! />

<p><input type="submit" value="Submit">

</form>
</body>
</html>

I have a lot more input text fields but the principle is the same. I use server side scripts to load initial values in to the text fields. But to do this I need a script for every field. My server is running on a embedded machine with a limited TCP connection. Because of all the scripts I have to use this way my page loads really slow.

Therefore my question is: Is there an other way to Get and set the initial value of my input test fields???

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Peter

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 18 2010, 05:04 PM
Post #2

🌟Computer says no🌟

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 6