The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I need the code to run apps via browser, I need a code (link) to launch a local application
acidklown
post Dec 12 2006, 03:51 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,278



I've used this code a long time ago but I cannot remember what it is.
It's something like <a href="run:// but I cannot remember the exact syntax. Any help is appreciated.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 12 2006, 04:09 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,734
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/design.html#run-program
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
acidklown
post Dec 12 2006, 04:25 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,278



QUOTE(pandy @ Dec 12 2006, 04:09 PM) *


Not quite what I'm looking for....

I'm am writing a page for all of our call center employees, and what I am trying to do, is put a link on the page that will launch a program that they have on their machine (ticketentry.exe).. I want them to be able to click the link and launch their local app instead of using the server app.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 12 2006, 06:00 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



What's to stop someone else from creating a link that runs "format c:" or something equally malicious?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
John Pozadzides
post Dec 13 2006, 12:24 AM
Post #5


WDG Founder
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 529
Joined: 3-August 06
From: Magnolia, TX
Member No.: 2



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Dec 12 2006, 05:00 PM) *

What's to stop someone else from creating a link that runs "format c:" or something equally malicious?

Presumably this is being used in an intranet and the Webmaster isn't going to allow that.

Having said all that, all you need to do is provide a simple Anchor pointing to the executable. It's easier than you are making it out to be. For example:
CODE
<a href="c:\windows\notepad.exe">Run Windows Notepad</a>


Change out the link to notepad with whatever you want. Now there are caveots to this working properly:
  1. It will have to be installed in the exact same directory on all of your machines. In a call center environment I would think that would be the case.
  2. Your agents will need to click on little dialogs that the browser window pops up for their protection to allow the executable to run. These are different in each browser.
Good luck,

John
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 13 2006, 02:13 AM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,734
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE
Presumably this is being used in an intranet and the Webmaster isn't going to allow that.

Sure, but if the browser functionality was there it could be used anywhere.

QUOTE
Having said all that, all you need to do is provide a simple Anchor pointing to the executable. It's easier than you are making it out to be. For example:
CODE
<a href="c:\windows\notepad.exe">Run Windows Notepad</a>

If the browser is IE or maybe Opera. Even if it is, I have a fealing the download dialog won't satisfy the OP. tongue.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 13 2006, 03:48 AM
Post #7


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE(pandy @ Dec 12 2006, 11:13 PM) *
If the browser is IE or maybe Opera. Even if it is, I have a fealing the download dialog won't satisfy the OP. tongue.gif
And from a corporate security point of view, you really don't want to train employees to click OK when they get that dialog.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
acidklown
post Dec 13 2006, 08:33 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,278



This is an intranet site, and not accessable to the outside. What we're esentially trying to do, is lock users desktops to a certain page, and only have the programs they can use linked on that page.

I understand the security issues though..

It seems as though FireFox, and IE7 both do not like that command. I'm yet to try it on IE6 but am about to go do that right now. (All users have IE6 as we haven't rolled out Vista yet)

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
acidklown
post Dec 13 2006, 08:39 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,278



with that... IE6 doesn't run it either.. That code isn't working.
(I even tried your code, and it failed)
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 13 2006, 09:13 AM
Post #10


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,734
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Try using the file protocol.
<a href="file:///c:/windows/notepad.exe">

FF won't offer to run the app whatever you do, but it should offer to download it.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
acidklown
post Dec 13 2006, 09:20 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,278



QUOTE(pandy @ Dec 13 2006, 09:13 AM) *

Try using the file protocol.
<a href="file:///c:/windows/notepad.exe">

FF won't offer to run the app whatever you do, but it should offer to download it.


That didn't work either. I've tried almost every variation that I can think of for this.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Dec 13 2006, 09:44 AM
Post #12


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,665
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(acidklown @ Dec 13 2006, 02:33 PM) *

This is an intranet site, and not accessable to the outside. What we're esentially trying to do, is lock users desktops to a certain page, and only have the programs they can use linked on that page.

Why not use the desktop, with shortcuts instead of links? In addition, Windows lets you use a web page as a desktop background.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
acidklown
post Dec 13 2006, 09:51 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,278



QUOTE(Christian J @ Dec 13 2006, 09:44 AM) *

QUOTE(acidklown @ Dec 13 2006, 02:33 PM) *

This is an intranet site, and not accessable to the outside. What we're esentially trying to do, is lock users desktops to a certain page, and only have the programs they can use linked on that page.

Why not use the desktop, with shortcuts instead of links? In addition, Windows lets you use a web page as a desktop background.


I see what you're saying..
BUT, the users have a website now that they go to... and it has a link for "ticket entry", which points to a file on the server (te.exe) that they all use...

They also have the file on their local machine. We want for them to click that link and launch their local application instead of having 100 people using the server app.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 13 2006, 09:57 AM
Post #14


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,734
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Came to think about something. What browsers do you guys use at work? Is it all IE? I'm not sure, but I think applications be run from a HTA. At least you can use Windows scripting. Maybe someone else knows, I've just played with simple, non scripted HTA.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default....htaoverview.asp
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
acidklown
post Dec 13 2006, 10:07 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,278



QUOTE(pandy @ Dec 13 2006, 09:57 AM) *

Came to think about something. What browsers do you guys use at work? Is it all IE? I'm not sure, but I think applications be run from a HTA. At least you can use Windows scripting. Maybe someone else knows, I've just played with simple, non scripted HTA.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default....htaoverview.asp


Yes, everyone is using IE6

Everything I have tried, has failed.. I KNOW this can be done though because I've done it a long long time ago. I just don't remember how. I know for instance, you can open irc://irc.server or aim:// so there has to be a way to open a local program.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
acidklown
post Dec 13 2006, 10:25 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 1,278



<a href="file://C:/WINDOWS/notepad.exe

worked with the .hta extension... THANK YOU !!!!! smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 13 2006, 12:27 PM
Post #17


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,734
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Really? I get the usual dowmload dialog. Maybe that's what you meant?

Otherwise I think I found how to make your dream come true. tongue.gif
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/scriptcen...05/hey1031.mspx
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 13 2006, 12:34 PM
Post #18


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,734
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Works like a dream. This was fun! laugh.gif

Don't know what happens when you put it on a server, but I guess you have low security for your intranet. Please let us know.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th May 2024 - 11:35 AM