The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Android 10 help
pandy
post Oct 7 2021, 06:43 AM
Post #1


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Got me a new phone. Everything went splendid. For the first time ever I got all contacts, old SMS and MMS, even profile images. Until... I realized I couldn't get on the Net. But that's sort of resolved now with the help of my provider.

But the settings are so different. Had Android 8 something before. For example I want to store photos taken with the mobile camera on the SD card. There are no storage choices in Camera Setting. Every guide I've googled up says there is, even those that are specifically for 10.

Any knowledge about this?

@Christian Do you know if there are places where you can pay to get the phone rooted? The guides out there mostly look like they were written by script kids and I don't get half of it and don't know what scripts and software can be trusted. I'm afraid to screw up, since I only have this one phone, no land line.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Oct 7 2021, 09:25 AM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,899
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



My Android 9 Camera app has a setting called Data Storage. Open the Camera app (not the phones Settings app) and click the top right cog wheel. But depending on phone brand I guess there could be all sorts of proprietary menus.

I'm sure any phone repair shop can root it, but they'll likely be following those script kid manuals too. laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 7 2021, 10:52 AM
Post #3


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Christian J @ Oct 7 2021, 04:25 PM) *

My Android 9 Camera app has a setting called Data Storage. Open the Camera app (not the phones Settings app) and click the top right cog wheel. But depending on phone brand I guess there could be all sorts of proprietary menus.

I know, that's how it used to be. Could also be accessed from main settings app.

What I have is pretty bare Android. No extra apps and crap. So it's odd if they've disabled some settings. After my success with a cheapo phone last round (Motorola, also basically bare Android), I decide to try a China phone. So far it's great, except for this. To a fraction of the price for a Samsung.

Drool over this. tongue.gif
https://www.e-ville.com/sv/3045974-vattenta...smartphone.html

QUOTE

I'm sure any phone repair shop can root it, but they'll likely be following those script kid manuals too. laugh.gif

Yeah, but they might understand the lingo... I've actually asked at a small repair shop a year or so ago. He said he could do it but was reluctant. I suspect it couldn't, but wanted me to think he was brilliant. tongue.gif

I could send it to Darin. He said he rooted all his phones. But then there will be custom fees and VAT... laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Oct 7 2021, 02:16 PM
Post #4


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,899
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Oct 7 2021, 05:52 PM) *

I know, that's how it used to be. Could also be accessed from main settings app.

I can only access it from the Camera itself.

QUOTE
What I have is pretty bare Android. No extra apps and crap. So it's odd if they've disabled some settings.

Maybe you have a newer Camera version than me. Have you given the Camera app permission to access Storage?

QUOTE

With IP68 it could withstand any drooling. biggrin.gif

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 7 2021, 02:19 PM
Post #5


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It just hit me. I could try to root my old phone, as an exercise. I actually have 3 still working old phones, but two of them may be so old that they'll fry in the process.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 7 2021, 04:08 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE
QUOTE
What I have is pretty bare Android. No extra apps and crap. So it's odd if they've disabled some settings.

Maybe you have a newer Camera version than me. Have you given the Camera app permission to access Storage?

App version you mean? I should have since my phone is newer. cool.gif

No. I'll see... Under Settings|Apps|Camera|Permissions|Storage I only have Allow and Deny. Nothing about the SD card. I think you are on the right track though. I know with my wonderful gallery app I needed to do something (that I have forgotten) to allow it to write to the SD card.

QUOTE
QUOTE

With IP68 it could withstand any drooling. biggrin.gif


Yes, but I don't want your drool on it anyway. We do have a pandemic, you know! rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

There are some issues with network connection still, but we (support and I) are working on it. It works fine if I use the APN for a specific provider that is NOT my provider. But that feels unsecure. What if they kick me off all of a sudden when I'm in the middel of nowhere?

But I like the phone very much anyway. It's so easy to type and I watched Rapport when I had to wait for other people up in the attic (yes, I had an attic date! tongue.gif). Was great with that big screen. I've been installing apps, trying the camera and had the radio on speaker since 9 this morning and the battery is now on 56%. I'd say it's good for two days hard work. It's heavy, but I'm getting used to that already. I walked around (indoors) with a 3 dl box of cream in my pocket for a while before I decided to feel the weight. It isn't really heavy. It' just feels heavy to start with because it weighs more than expected.

A big plus is the max speaker volume is really loud. Seems it isn't capped as it usually is. At last the speaker will be a useful thing.

The glowing robot eyes on the back is a nice touch that I think will cause great envy all around. laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 7 2021, 05:52 PM
Post #7


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Gaah! 😖

Google is not a fan of microSD cards and so the default Android camera app won't let you save to SD card on Android phones running Android Oreo, Android Pie, or Android 10. But there are workarounds for this. While it is possible to set a microSD card as internal storage, it's easier just to download a camera app that will let you save to microSD by default. One of the apps we recommend is the one called CameraMX.
https://www.nextpit.com/how-to-save-photos-...he-sd-card#oreo

Well, if using another camera app is the solution, that's no problem. I was planning on finding one anyway, because the default one sucks. No control at all. The standard app on my old phone at least has exposure compensations and a few other things. This has nothing.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 7 2021, 06:16 PM
Post #8


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Well, that was easy. This one seems to have everything and it's free. It let me use the SD card without problems. I hadn't realized that was a feature of the app!
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...oid.camera.lite

There's a Pro version too. If it offers something useful and Lite works well I may buy it. It's just a couple of bucks. With Lite you can control ISO, shutter speed. type of light metering (spot, average and so on), white balance and exposure compensation and there are some extras. No aperture control, but I suspect phone cameras have a fixed aperture. No filters and silly stuff like that. But it has composition aids I wish I had in my real camera and in my editor.

Happy again! Disabling the dumb google app.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Oct 7 2021, 08:55 PM
Post #9


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,346
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
I could send it to Darin. He said he rooted all his phones.
I said what?

My current phone is unlocked, but it was unlocked when I bought it from Best Buy. I've had a couple other unlocked phones in the past, but I've also had locked phones. And I've never rooted any of them.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 8 2021, 05:49 AM
Post #10


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I asked about this before and as I recall it you said you thought all your phones had been rooted. Probably we talked about different things and I misunderstood you. Shame. I won't send you my phone then.

Strange. I thought I could find the thread but I find nothing when I search for unlocked and your name either. Root was hopeless too search for, too many hits.

It's annoying. The compass is so off. Waving around with the phone making figure eights does nothing. I found there are great calibration tools built in, but I can't get to them. Sending the phone back to Finland for calibration doesn't sound tempting. It's the only phone I have. Well, the old still works, but the USB port is likely to fall out any minute now.

I was looking forward to being able to use Star Map again. My previous phone didn't have a compass sensor. And I need the compass when I'm in the forest. Easy to forget to bring a real one. Bummer. sad.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Oct 8 2021, 06:04 AM
Post #11


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,899
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Now I recall a friend had some problem with saving to on his phone's SD card. It turned out saving directly to SD card could cause instability of some sorts, so it was not allowed. The suggested proper way to do it was to first save to the phone's memory, then manually transfer to the SD card afterwards. wacko.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 8 2021, 06:43 AM
Post #12


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Idiotic.

The new camera app saves to the SD card without problems. But it turns out my beloved gallery app does not. It also has a setting you need to use to enable that. Looked like it worked just fine. But it didn't "take". It can read ok, but not write. That sucks since I make use of tagging (written to EXIF or IPTC or something) a lot.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 8 2021, 01:17 PM
Post #13


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,927
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It's the number 10 that's hexed. Never get an OS with 10 in it. ninja.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2021 - 05:41 PM