The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Changing what's in a frame
WAYNEKNAZEK
post Mar 12 2022, 05:09 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-March 22
Member No.: 28,283



Page loads and there is a blue framed white box. A scrolling banner moves right to left
inside the box. (using marquee) When banner finishes scrolling the framed box is empty.

I would like to fill the box with either a graphic or text. Like maybe text saying "scroll down",
or a graphic indicating the same thing. Or make the whole box a hyperlink. BOX FILLS WITH
A DIFFERENT COLOR AND TEXT IS A HYPERLINK . . . Enter our site . . . click here!

And/or . . . what I'd really like is for the page to auto scroll down so the framed box scrolls
out of sight, OR . . just have that whole box "close" and the site text be at the top.


I'm OK with a "button" or link under the box to auto move to the text part of the page.
(click here to move to page text) I did that. But having it do it automatically would be cool!
The box going away would be awesome!

Something to get past the framed white box. See attached screenshot.

TIA! WayneAttached Image

This post has been edited by WAYNEKNAZEK: Mar 12 2022, 06:05 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 12 2022, 07:06 PM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,900
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Without seeing your code I can't offer much help. marquee is a non-standard HTML tag, it was never part of the standard HTML specs. It is 'Deprecated' and should not be used.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Mar 12 2022, 07:10 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
WAYNEKNAZEK
post Mar 12 2022, 07:58 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-March 22
Member No.: 28,283



OK, so imagine I didn't use marquee. Some other method of making a graphic scroll across a framed in box was used.

Same questions as above apply. I want to have that part of the page "go away". Currently I have a link to move down to the text. I want to replace the scrolling text graphic with a non scrolling graphic, or just text in the space where the banner was scrolling.

Better still, once the banner is done scrolling, (</marquee>) just have the box go away, delete, auto scroll down to the next part of the page.

This post has been edited by WAYNEKNAZEK: Mar 12 2022, 08:02 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 12 2022, 10:25 PM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,900
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



You still haven't shown any code. You could add '#id' to the end of the href to make it scroll down using javascript. I can't help anymore without seeing some code.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
WAYNEKNAZEK
post Mar 12 2022, 11:12 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-March 22
Member No.: 28,283



https://midkar.com/1_New_Home_Page_CSS_TEST...orig-color.html

view source
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 13 2022, 03:14 AM
Post #6


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,900
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



QUOTE(WAYNEKNAZEK @ Mar 12 2022, 11:12 PM) *

I get a '404 - Not Found' error.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Mar 13 2022, 03:15 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
WAYNEKNAZEK
post Mar 13 2022, 05:59 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-March 22
Member No.: 28,283



I know. I posted that hours ago. I'm currently working on the page and moved it.
Sorry . . .

https://midkar.com/index3-lgr-fnt-orig-color.html

It will eventually just be midkar.com
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
WAYNEKNAZEK
post Mar 13 2022, 07:26 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-March 22
Member No.: 28,283



It's now just www.midkar.com
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 13 2022, 06:00 PM
Post #9


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,900
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



To begin with your HTML structure is messed up. You have '< html >', '< /html >', '< style >' and '< /style >' tags inside the '< body >' tag. Is this an HTML4 or HTML5 document? You use both '!DOCTYPE' types in the page, you even have a stray '< /div >' tag inside the '< html >'. You use many attributes that are not valid under HTML5.

Before you start adding frosting to your cake you should make sure the cake has a good foundation. If this is an HTML5 document use this validator. If it is an HTML4 document then use the validator on this website. Instead of writing your CSS inside each tag consider using an external CSS file instead.

To my knowledge there is no replacement for marquee.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
WAYNEKNAZEK
post Mar 13 2022, 08:38 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-March 22
Member No.: 28,283



Thanks for the help! I tried to keep my posts short for viewers. Should have given you more info.

This whole site is trash. It's a support site for our MIDI discussion group that started 17 years ago. 2 of the 4 guys who started the group built the site from scratch in 2009 with ZERO experience ever programming anything. They'd do stuff till it worked.

Since then there were others in the group who volunteered to make edits n stuff on the site. So it's a spaghetti programmer's dream! LOL I'm just trying to freshen it up a little and will begin making a new site from scratch with HTML/CSS & Javascript. For now, I just want the site to work.

I "inherited" the site. I now own it. 3 of the 4 original guys have since passed, and the 4th is in his 80s and retired.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 13 2022, 11:17 PM
Post #11


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,900
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



In that case you are limited in your choices. What you have now may be the best solution. The only other thing I could recommend is instead of using the 'a' tag to reload the page use a 'h1' tag and javascript to hide the marquee. Otherwise just leave it as is.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
WAYNEKNAZEK
post Mar 14 2022, 12:16 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-March 22
Member No.: 28,283



Thank you my friend! I'll try that. But my gut says it is what it is! LOL
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2022 - 06:09 PM