Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A little help please
DWFII
post Jan 2 2020, 10:25 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 27,109

Hello. New member here. I hope this is in the right thread.

I need a little help with a webpage that I have put together.

I have been creating webpages, with photos and so forth for over twenty years. Almost off of it in html using a text editor or using a rather rudimentary html editor such as Coffee Cup. I have never had this problem before.

I am the Web manager and Admin for my Trade Guild. Years ago I created a webpage that opened up a series of photos (thumbnails), in a table, which when clicked upon opened to a larger photo. I am 74 now and needed to do something very similar for another set of photos. so I simply opened the original webpage in CoffeeCup and created a new html using the exact same header, etc.. Each photo was called and displayed as a jpg from a secondary .htm.

As I went along I frequently previewed the results--CoffeeCup allows you to use an external viewer, which in this case in the latest version of Firefox running on a Win 10 pro system. As I worked through the photos, editing them and positioning them, each one appeared in the opening window/webpage correctly.

Finally I was done. I uploaded the files to the server and called the webpage form Firefox. The webpage displayed as it should except for three thumbnails and photos almost at the start of the body.

I went back and checked the code...it was identical (as far as I can see) for all the photos and dependent htms. I went back and checked the photos thinking there might be corruption , if only because the missing photos/thumbnails has a 'broken' symbol.

I cleared the cache. I checked the webpage in Edge...same problem.

I created a 'new' smaller, test html webpage and it too displayed fine in the viewer (also in Kompozer) but not from the internet.