Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HTML Forms submit to email
pong22
post Nov 27 2009, 07:22 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 10,452

Hello I am in desperate need of some help. I am building a form for my website for clients to fill out so we can contact them if they want to recieve more information. The form looks great however when i test it out by filling in data and clicking "submit" no data gets sent to my email. Heres is the coding I am using. Please help as I am a novice in HTML. I would love all the info they fill out in the "contact form" to be sent to my email. Thank you!

<form id="contacts-form" action="mailto:my_email@my_email.com">
<fieldset>
<div class="field"><label>Full Name:</label><input type="text" value=""/></div>
<div class="field"><label>E-mail:</label><input type="text" value=""/></div>
<div class="field"><label>Law Firm:</label><input type="text" value=""/></div>
<div class="field"><label>Address:</label><input type="text" value=""/></div>
<div class="field"><label>City:</label><input type="text" value=""/></div>
<div class="field"><label>State:</label><input type="text" value=""/></div>
<div class="field"><label>Phone:</label><input type="text" value=""/></div>
<div class="field"><label>Message:</label><textarea cols="" rows=""></textarea></div>
<div class="alignright"><a href="" class="button" onclick="('contacts-form').submit()"><em><b>Submit</b></em></a></div>
</fieldset>
</form>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Nov 27 2009, 07:57 AM
Post #2

🌟Computer says no🌟

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 6

'mailtro' is unreliable in the first place.
http://www.htmlhelp.com/faq/html/forms.html#mailto-form

Making the form rely on JavaScript doesn't make it better. How did you come up with the below?
CODE
onclick="('contacts-form').submit()"

Something like so should work. Maybe that's what the above originally was and then a part got lost.
CODE