The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Lock tables in place
tylerbouldin
post May 24 2011, 02:21 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 24-May 11
Member No.: 14,600



I just started up a new website

tylerbouldin.com

It is basically a portfolio website. However, when I make the window smaller, all my images and boxes move and sometimes they switch spots. How do I get them to lock in place where I want them to?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post May 24 2011, 05:06 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,319
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



It seems you've used a fixed-width layout on that page. What do you see moving and sometimes switching spots?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tylerbouldin
post May 24 2011, 11:20 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 24-May 11
Member No.: 14,600



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ May 24 2011, 05:06 PM) *

It seems you've used a fixed-width layout on that page. What do you see moving and sometimes switching spots?


Well I took off my Twitter feed. But the box in the middle that I want my blog posts to be keep going underneath the navigation buttons on the left when I restore down the browser window.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 24 2011, 11:44 PM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,495
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



What box would that be? It's a little hard to see what's what since there is no content or place holder text. Everything is in a table, so I don't see how it can move.

Not what you asked about, but there is no reason to slice the header image and put it in a table. Just makes it load slow and ugly. I wouldn't use all those spacer GIFs either.

The structure of the table(s) and of the whole page is broken. Maybe that has to do with your problem.
http://www.htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.c...s&input=yes
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2020 - 01:08 AM