The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> CSS troubles..!
tsutanai
post Apr 4 2007, 12:43 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 21-November 06
From: England
Member No.: 1,010



Since I'm not very advanced with CSS, I'm having a lot of trouble with my site layout. If I were to code using tables, I could do it (but I know that's a really bad method, so I won't). Another reason for my not being able to code it is that I want the website to be centered in any screen resolution (from 800x600 up), which I have managed to do.

What I'm asking may be quite a lot, and I apologise for that, but hopefully someone out there is willing to help me.

Here is the page:
http://www.freewebs.com/elysiumgraphics/layout.html
(The whole code is accessible in the Page Source)

But this is how the page is supposed to look:
http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/1...wlayoutew5.jpg
(Ignore the green box, it has no relevance anymore, and it's NOT part of the design)

My problem is positioning these things (the navigation, etc) using CSS. All necessary images are here: http://s133.photobucket.com/albums/q...ics/NewLayout/

Thanks in advance!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
JamieHarrop
post Apr 4 2007, 03:05 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
****

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 129
Joined: 25-October 06
From: West Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 570



It seems the URL to the image of how it should look isn't working, tsutanai.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
John Pozadzides
post Apr 4 2007, 04:34 PM
Post #3


WDG Founder
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 529
Joined: 3-August 06
From: Magnolia, TX
Member No.: 2



Yeah, I can't see the image either...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tsutanai
post Apr 4 2007, 05:54 PM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 21-November 06
From: England
Member No.: 1,010



Oh, I think I managed to post a url that actually had "..." in the middle. Sorry! This URL should work:

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/1167/newlayoutew5.jpg

I've actually managed to sort out my page pretty well, but I'm still having some problems with padding and spacing that I'm not sure how to sort out. The page is the same url:

http://www.freewebs.com/elysiumgraphics/layoutcode.html

The problems are pretty self-evident, I think. Any help is much appreciated! smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Effovex
post Apr 4 2007, 06:41 PM
Post #5


Serious Coder
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 6-January 07
From: Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Member No.: 1,477



The only problems I see is that you need some padding on your containers...

This fixes it.
CODE
#nav
{
float: left;
width: 153px;
padding: 0 10px;
}

#main
{
float: right;
width: 560px;
padding: 0 1px;
}


Apart from that, the submenu isn't on the page, but that shouldn't be any difficulty to implement (just put it in the already existing #nav). What else do you see as "obviously" wrong? You need a footer and you're done. You can't get the page to stretch to the bottom (well, there are ways, but none that are pleasant or reliable)

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tsutanai
post Apr 4 2007, 07:15 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 21-November 06
From: England
Member No.: 1,010



Ahh! Thank you. Ugh, that's really stupid of me.

Well, there's only one minor problem now. The headers (that say "NAVIGATION" and "WELCOME TO ELYSIUM") and the stars above and below them.. There should be less space between them... They just look too big and space-consuming.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
JamieHarrop
post Apr 4 2007, 08:16 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
****

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 129
Joined: 25-October 06
From: West Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 570



Add "margin: 0;" to .header.

Obviously change the margin value until you get it how you want it to be.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
tsutanai
post Apr 4 2007, 08:21 PM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 21-November 06
From: England
Member No.: 1,010



Thank you so much. smile.gif It's taken me all day just to code this, haha. Finally, it's done.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th April 2024 - 11:46 AM