The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Using HTML codes as commands for a machine (PLC)
rayner oliveiro
post Sep 7 2009, 12:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-September 09
Member No.: 9,688



Hi there! I am BRAND NEW to the world of HTML and I need HELP!

I'm currently doing my project and somehow it involves HTML. Now My problem is that I need to use HTML to program a machine.

EXAMPLE: Toggle Switch 1 to turn on Lamp 1 or Activate sensor 1 to turn on pump 1.

Can you guys give me some tips/advice/help?

Rayner
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 7 2009, 07:00 AM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,435
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



You mean a physical machine?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 7 2009, 08:44 AM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,810
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



HTML isn't a programming language.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
rayner oliveiro
post Sep 7 2009, 08:41 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-September 09
Member No.: 9,688



Yes, I'm trying to use HTML on a physical machine. Currently I can only turn on and off small indicator lights on the machine when I click "ON" or "OFF" on the computer screen. Is there a way to convert that clicking on the screen input to an actual switch where I can click on and off?

I understand it is not a programming language but I think I have a device that allows the machine to so call.. "Understand" html as commands.

http://www.panasonic-electric-works.com/pe...en/html/640.php <---- this is the device.


<td VALIGN=TOP>
<ul>
<li>
<font face="Arial"><font size=+0>Lamp Y0:&nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="plc?dt200&Y8=1">On</a>
/ <a href="plc?dt200&Y8=0">Off</a></font></font></li>
</ul>
</td>

This is part of the source code and it shows how the light is switched on and off.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 7 2009, 08:51 PM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,810
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Since HTML isn't a programming language, there are no commands either...


QUOTE
<td VALIGN=TOP>
<ul>
<li>
<font face="Arial"><font size=+0>Lamp Y0:&nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="plc?dt200&Y8=1">On</a>
/ <a href="plc?dt200&Y8=0">Off</a></font></font></li>
</ul>
</td>

This is part of the source code and it shows how the light is switched on and off.


Not really. The URL you link to has a query string. That could be used by a programming language to determine if the lamp should be on or off, but HTML itself does nothing, merely makes the query string available. So what uses the query string? What argument does it need to turn the lamp off?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
rayner oliveiro
post Sep 7 2009, 09:08 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-September 09
Member No.: 9,688



I'm sorry. I don't quite understand what you are trying to say. Can you explain further? "So what uses the query string? What argument does it need to turn the lamp off?"
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 7 2009, 10:20 PM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,810
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



The bit after the question mark, 'dt200&Y8=1', is a query string. It's used to pass an argument to a program/script. What it "does", how it's used, isn't defined in HTML, it's defined in the script it's intended for. If nothing is there to use it, nothing happens.

You can tag a query string on any URL. It means nothing by itself. This will take you to your post above because the forum software reads and acts upon the queary string.
http://forums.htmlhelp.com/index.php?s=&am...ost&p=40779
Seding the same query string to another page where the forum soft isn't running doesn't accomplish anything at all.
http://htmlhelp.com?s=&showtopic=9752&...ost&p=40779

How did you come up with the string you are using to turn the lamp on? Look for the off switch in the same place. You could take a chance and try ''dt200&Y8=0' though.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st June 2020 - 09:16 AM