Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Excel to HTML, Formatting problem when converting Excel sheet
Baz Baziah
post Dec 17 2006, 07:28 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,322

Hi there,

I'm new around here and hope that I have posted my question in the correct forum.

I am using Excel 2002 with SP3, IE 6 and windows XP. I am currently having poblems when converting excel sheets to HTML and the way they dispaly within a web page.

I convert the sheet using the standard Excel 'save a web page' option but without the 'add interactivity' option checked. The conversion goes well and adding it into the web page goes easy enough. however when I (or others) come to look at the page the formatting, spacing etc. is all jumbled. The level of jumble changes each and every time the page is loaded. However a simple click on the refresh button resolves the problem and the sheet then displays correctly.

Can someone please tell me where I am going wrong ? I'm no expert at HTML (2/10) but know my way around Excel (7/10).

Cheers,

Jim

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 17 2006, 08:20 AM
Post #2

🌟Computer says no🌟

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 6

I expect Excel's HTML output is every bit as horrid as Word's. You probably have to clean it up by hand. Could you link to a sample page, please? Then we can give you better advice.
User is offlinePM
Baz Baziah
post Dec 17 2006, 03:10 PM
Post #3

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,322

QUOTE(pandy @ Dec 17 2006, 01:20 PM) *

I expect Excels's HTML output is every bit as horrid as Word's. You probably have to clean it up by hand. Could you link to a sample page, please? Then we can give you better advice.

Here you go, there are three pages listed here. All are part of a fan based Star Tek Game so excuse the 'nerdy' aspect of the content !

http://www.tacticalstarshipcombat.com/FASA/sds/D88_sds.htm

http://www.tacticalstarshipcombat.com/FASA/sds/D59_sds.htm