The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> set max-width, still going 100% in IE, Grrr. lol
s_connors
post Apr 26 2007, 08:25 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 2-April 07
Member No.: 2,404



http://cck2.com/demo/temp.html


in FF its only 800 px wide but in IE it goes all the way arcross.


I'm forcing my self to learn CSS b/c tables are the DEVIL, as mama always said.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Effovex
post Apr 26 2007, 08:42 AM
Post #2


Serious Coder
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 6-January 07
From: Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Member No.: 1,477



IE doesn't support it, sadly. You can use conditional comments to set a fixed width, or use conditional comments to set a javascript function that sets the width of the element onResize and onLoad if the width is greater than the max width you want.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Shadeaux
post Apr 26 2007, 08:57 AM
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 24-April 07
Member No.: 2,621



Is this close to what you want? My page container is the same size in IE or FF...I used only CSS

http://www.vectorcsp.com/test/index.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
s_connors
post Apr 26 2007, 09:06 AM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 2-April 07
Member No.: 2,404



yeah, how did you do thaT?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Effovex
post Apr 26 2007, 09:15 AM
Post #5


Serious Coder
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 6-January 07
From: Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Member No.: 1,477



...he set a fixed width. Just set the width instead of the max-width.

Of course, this means users will get horizontal scrolling if their viewport is smaller than the set width.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Shadeaux
post Apr 26 2007, 09:35 AM
Post #6


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 24-April 07
Member No.: 2,621



Yep... and auto margins so that it remains centered when you change resolution.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
s_connors
post Apr 26 2007, 09:48 AM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 2-April 07
Member No.: 2,404



Thanks guys your a huge help
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th December 2019 - 08:57 PM