The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V « < 9 10 11 12 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How bad is Win 10?
pandy
post Aug 18 2020, 12:27 PM
Post #201


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I needn't. Just rightclick is enough. Seems everything is different for us. biggrin.gif

But it doesn't help. The path field is grayed out whatever I do. I suspect it isn't a path, more of a command maybe.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 18 2020, 12:33 PM
Post #202


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,807
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



It's been awhile but I seem to remember coming across some icons like that, greyed out/blank target field. Don't remember much else about them.

Yes, seems our installations are different, for whatever reason. I can't see classic menu vs normal menu as the only reason.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 18 2020, 02:21 PM
Post #203


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,683
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Aug 18 2020, 02:49 AM) *

My Edge is located at '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Edge\Application\msedge.exe" --profile-directory=Default'. This is copied from my taskbar shortcut.

Same here.

Didn't know about the Shift+rightclick trick, so I had to: open the Start menu > find Microsoft Edge in the App list > Right-click and open the More submenu > click Open file location, which opened C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs > then I could finally right-click the real shortcut and choose Properies. laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 18 2020, 02:24 PM
Post #204


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,683
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Aug 18 2020, 03:08 AM) *

This is very strange. I don't have any msedge.exe.

Are you still using the old EdgeHTML-based Edge browser? The new Chromium-based Edge has a different icon than in your screenshot.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 18 2020, 02:31 PM
Post #205


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



No idea! I thought Microsoft kept everything updated for me now. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE

Didn't know about the Shift+rightclick trick, so I had to: open the Start menu > find Microsoft Edge in the App list > Right-click and open the More submenu > click Open file location, which opened C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs > then I could finally right-click the real shortcut and choose Properies. laugh.gif


unsure.gif


Attached Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 18 2020, 02:33 PM
Post #206


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,683
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



I don't have that App Settings option is my More menu.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 18 2020, 02:34 PM
Post #207


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I tried to find out what version i have (from within Edge). There is no About on the menu and can't find any other entry that tells me the version either. biggrin.gif

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 18 2020, 02:59 PM
Post #208


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,683
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



In the Chromium Edge version it's in a submenu to Help and Feedback.

You can also click the "..."-icon at the top right of the browser window and choose Settings, then the About menu will appear at the bottom left.

(You can tell "UX-specialists" have had a hand in all this.)
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 18 2020, 03:31 PM
Post #209


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(Christian J @ Aug 18 2020, 09:59 PM) *

In the Chromium Edge version it's in a submenu to Help and Feedback.


Nope. laugh.gif

QUOTE
You can also click the "..."-icon at the top right of the browser window and choose Settings, then the About menu will appear at the bottom left.


No About menu, but the version is there, at the bottom of Settings. wacko.gif

Microsoft Edge 44.18362.449.0
Microsoft EdgeHTML 18.18363

Guess that's the old one. Maybe it's good someone has that?

QUOTE

(You can tell "UX-specialists" have had a hand in all this.)


I don't know what UX is and I'm not sure I want to know. User Experience?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 18 2020, 04:15 PM
Post #210


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,683
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Aug 18 2020, 10:31 PM) *

Guess that's the old one. Maybe it's good someone has that?

See how long it lasts, mine was simply overwritten by the Chromium version, but I still have IE11. unsure.gif

QUOTE
I don't know what UX is and I'm not sure I want to know. User Experience?

Yes: https://www.nngroup.com/articles/definition-user-experience/

"UX" may also be used as a buzz word by designers that don't really care about its meaning (just a hunch I got).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 18 2020, 04:18 PM
Post #211


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Maybe UX is good together with jQuery.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 19 2020, 04:00 AM
Post #212


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,807
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



For me, Microsoft Edge: Version 84.0.522.61 (Official build) (64-bit). Strange how the path I posted points to a x86 directory when the program states it is x64

Also, I do see 'App Settings', but only when I right click items in the menu. I see different options when I right click an icon in the quick launch bar (Windows calls it 'Pin to taskbar'). I also see different options when I hold down the SHIFT key and right click a quick launch icon (MS Edge has a 'Create shortcut' option).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 19 2020, 04:23 AM
Post #213


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It seems Win10 is ever-changing. I notice this when searching the web for help. Almost every description of circumstances differs.

My original bugs with file associations and keyboard shortcuts also change with windows updates. For a while now my chosen association for .txt works, without me doing anything about it. The keyboard shortcut for opening IrfanView also works now. But it worked from start. Then it stopped to work. Came back. Stopped to work...

Since a while I can turn off UAC. But I can't set it to something moderate. From the beginning I could do nothing about it.

The only problem that doesn't change is that some programs don't want to run at startup. I've gotten used to have a bunch of icons in a corner of the desktop and click them first thing if the computer has been properly turned off. But I usually let it hibernate. I turn it off properly only when I get the task bar bug that lets program windows cover the task bar. tongue.gif

I think I've got every Win10 bug there is. I should get a prize! laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 19 2020, 01:40 PM
Post #214


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,807
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Yes, I have that problem also. Not all startup programs load when starting Windows. For me it seems to happen more during 'Restart'. Doesn't happen as much when doing a cold boot.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 19 2020, 02:48 PM
Post #215


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



For me it doesn't matter how I boot.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 28 2020, 11:29 AM
Post #216


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,683
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(Christian J @ Jul 31 2020, 09:30 PM) *

When trying to login the other day I got a splash screen saying:

QUOTE
Let's finish setting up your device

Your device needs to connect to a few more Microsoft services to help you work more easily and securely across all your devices.

...followed by ads for Onedrive, Microsoft 365 subscriptions, etc. In the bottom left corner was a small, ominous "Skip for now" link that closed it.

Now I got this again. IPB Image Is there are any way to disable it? I've already turned off all "suggestions" since long time. A web search mostly linked to this very forum thread, as if I'm the only one that is getting it (or cares). Maybe Microsoft detects that I'm refusing all of their cloud services, and is doubling the effort.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 28 2020, 02:46 PM
Post #217


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Obviously they target you. biggrin.gif

Sorry, I don't know. I've learnt very little about Win10 so far and I'm not inspired to learn more. It's hard to google these things. I mean, what's even the thing you get called? unsure.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 28 2020, 03:34 PM
Post #218


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,683
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Aug 28 2020, 09:46 PM) *

I've learnt very little about Win10 so far and I'm not inspired to learn more.

Alas it seems constant vigilance is required: https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/micro...ives-too-often/

QUOTE
It's hard to google these things. I mean, what's even the thing you get called? unsure.gif

Yeah, this was all I found: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...AllReplies#tabs

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 28 2020, 03:45 PM
Post #219


Computer says no 🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 19,397
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Did you find why you get it and not I?

So it's defragging? I don't think I've ever got that. Once it wanted to finish set something up, but I think that was the installation of yet another Windows update.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 28 2020, 04:27 PM
Post #220


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,683
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ Aug 28 2020, 10:45 PM) *

Did you find why you get it and not I?

No. mellow.gif

QUOTE
So it's defragging? I don't think I've ever got that. Once it wanted to finish set something up, but I think that was the installation of yet another Windows update.

No, the SSD defragging is a completely different Windows 10 badness. It's done in the background, you may want to check those settings.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

12 Pages V « < 9 10 11 12 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd January 2021 - 12:56 AM