The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Odd symbols for apostrophe, Why do I get an odd set of symbols where I had put apostrophes
chris montez
post May 23 2020, 12:04 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-April 20
Member No.: 27,299



I had put up a few web pages and had used apostrophes when writing the code ex. Bob's trip. When I published it I got something like Bob, then the letter a with ^ over it, then the symbol for Euro and a small TM up above to the left of that. Any idea where that came from? I ended up running the pages through my Dreamweaver WYSWYG and putting the apostrophe in that way to fix it. I have never had to use the code for apostrophe before to show possession when using a text editor.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post May 23 2020, 12:29 AM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,333
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



It sounds like your system is using "smart quote" characters for the apostrophy. That is, instead of:
- Bob's trip
you've got:
- Bob's trip

And then the character encoding for these characters isn't being transmitted to the browser correctly, so they end up garbled.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 23 2020, 05:25 AM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,469
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



Did you mean these:

CODE
- Bob’s trip

Darin?
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 23 2020, 08:02 AM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,890
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Darin made a boo-boo. biggrin.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
chris montez
post May 23 2020, 09:21 AM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-April 20
Member No.: 27,299



DELETED BY MISTAKE

pandy blush.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 23 2020, 10:21 AM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,890
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I'm so sorry. I accidentally clicked EDIT instead of REPLY and overwrote your post with my answer and couldn't go back to save your post. blush.gif

Anyway, you asked about how to make DW not use smart quotes. I answered....

Sorry, I don't know anything about DW settings. But is it really DW that has created those curly things? That would be odd. Sure you haven't copied text from documents created in Word or the like?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post May 23 2020, 11:00 AM
Post #7


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,333
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Sorry, I mean't to include a "smart quote" apostrophe. Apparently I didn't get it right.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 23 2020, 11:28 AM
Post #8


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,469
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(pandy @ May 23 2020, 03:02 PM) *

Darin made a boo-boo. biggrin.gif


QUOTE(pandy @ May 23 2020, 05:21 PM) *

I'm so sorry. I accidentally clicked EDIT instead of REPLY and overwrote your post with my answer and couldn't go back to save your post. blush.gif


laugh.gif

(Now I need to be very careful myself...)

User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 23 2020, 11:34 AM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,890
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Yeah. Another forum where I spend more time has the buttons the other way around. This has happened before, but most often I can save the situation by using the browser's back button and copy the original post and paste it in so no one notices my boo-boo. cool.gif . But this time I must have clicked something else before I realized what had happened and the chain was broken.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 23 2020, 11:36 AM
Post #10


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,890
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Still, it's way more remarkable and unusual and thus also more amusing that Darin makes a boo-boo than that I do. laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
chris montez
post May 24 2020, 01:23 PM
Post #11


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-April 20
Member No.: 27,299



Dreamweaver has never this before so I don'think that is the problem. I am using a W3school template using charset UTF-8 where as I used to use charset=windows-1252. I don't see where that should make a difference.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 24 2020, 02:55 PM
Post #12


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,890
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It's typically word processors that use smart quotes. That's why I asked if you had copied the text from some other program.

To get rid of this specific instance you only need to delete the curly and type a new ' with your keyboard.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post May 24 2020, 04:34 PM
Post #13


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,469
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(chris montez @ May 24 2020, 08:23 PM) *

I am using a W3school template using charset UTF-8 where as I used to use charset=windows-1252. I don't see where that should make a difference.

That might garble certain characters if the file is not also saved as UTF-8. See https://www.w3.org/International/questions/...anging-encoding

Also note that you can use smart quotes in ordinary text content (with the correct encoding), but HTML code always requires ordinary quotes (single or double) regardless of encoding.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 24 2020, 05:10 PM
Post #14


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,890
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I think I've made a mistake (even if it wasn't obvious this time tongue.gif ). I thought the smart quotes Word uses were non standard. But I guess they are Unicode these days. Is that right? In that case they should be OK in the text as long as the document is saved as UTF-8, just as Christian pointed out.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
chris montez
post May 25 2020, 02:23 PM
Post #15


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-April 20
Member No.: 27,299



It looks like I still had an old windows charset meta tag in the HEAD as well as the UTF-8 meta tag from the template. Cleaning up the meta tags seems to have solved the problem. I don't use Word for any of the coding so that wasn't it. Thanks
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2020 - 03:30 PM