The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Need another set of eyes to troubleshoot css issue, firefox inspect shows element display: none inline but cannot find it
nootkan
post Aug 1 2024, 05:49 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 16-July 21
Member No.: 28,016



Hi everyone, was wondering if someone could look over my css on my shopping cart page to see why the postal code label seems to be styling as display:none inline.

I cannot seem to find my mistake no matter how many lines of code or files I look through.

It is bootstrap based and I admit my css skills are far from great.

The link is https://www.paulsmithgallery.ca/shop.

Just add a product to the cart then view the cart and choose the Estimate Shipping & Taxes option to see what I mean.

The Country and Region/State labels show fine but not the Postal Code label. Thanks in advance.
Paul
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 2 2024, 04:54 AM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,722
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(nootkan @ Aug 2 2024, 12:49 AM) *

the postal code label seems to be styling as display:none inline.

Yes, seems the static HTML uses:

CODE
<label id="postcode-required" for="postcode" class="required col-sm-2 control-label">Post Code:</label>

but in my browser inspector it looks like:

CODE
<label id="postcode-required" for="postcode" class="required col-sm-2 control-label" style="display: none;">Post Code:</label>

I assume that inline style has been added by some javascript. It can't be CSS alone, or it wouldn't show up in the inspector's HTML.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Aug 2 2024, 05:46 PM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,722
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



An effective way to debug pages is to simply remove content until nothing nothing remains except the content causing the bug.

You might start by removing HTML code, then CSS and JS that does not affect the post code functionality.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
nootkan
post Aug 3 2024, 04:32 PM
Post #4


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 16-July 21
Member No.: 28,016



Christian J, thanks for confirming my suspicions regarding js.

I believe it is something to do with an extension I have installed via vqmod in opencart but having issues troubleshooting after uninstalling them.

I do know that when I first had the site upgraded and tested it the issue wasn't present so I will just keep troubleshooting until I figure it out or just start over I guess.

Thanks for your replies.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
nootkan
post Aug 13 2024, 08:00 PM
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 16-July 21
Member No.: 28,016



Wow stupid me! Turns out I had an option disabled in the payment module that should have been enabled hence the display:none designation. Not sure if I did it recently with my upgrades or if it was done some time ago but all is good now. I'm off now to wipe some egg off my face. blush.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th October 2024 - 11:37 AM