The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem between 2 versions of PHP, code works with one version but not the other
CharlesEF
post Nov 12 2013, 06:55 PM
Post #1


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Hi All,

I'm new to PHP and have run into a problem I can't seem to find/fix. I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction.

I have a contact form that works fine when run with PHP v5.2.17
When I update PHP to v5.3.13 the form no longer works (my hosting site allows me to switch). The validation of the 'Captcha image' always fails.

I have looked at the code but I can't see anything wrong, but I am real new to PHP.

I have a test site for this contact form here. My site is set to use PHP v5.3.13 so anyone will get the same error I get.

I hope someone can point me in the right direction to fix this problem.


Thank you for any help,

Charles

PS: I have used ini_set('display_errors', 'On'); and error_reporting(E_ALL); but I can't see any error related to 'Captcha image'. I do see other errors like undefined variables.

Attached is the zip file of the contact form: Attached File  image_captcha_1.zip ( 38.19k ) Number of downloads: 362


This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Nov 12 2013, 07:34 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Nov 12 2013, 07:35 PM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,668
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



I get a captcha validation failure already in the javascript, AFAICS the form is never submitted --or is the captcha value sent with Ajax? Try to make the PHP script print out in clear text which captcha value it's expecting, and what it actually gets.

There are quite a few changes between your two PHP versions: http://www.php.net/ChangeLog-5.php unsure.gif

Personally I think captchas are an annoyance. I'd try javascript "encryption" of the server-side script's URL instead, or adding a hidden honeypot form field (that only spambots but not real users will fill in).

This post has been edited by Christian J: Nov 12 2013, 07:47 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Nov 12 2013, 09:19 PM
Post #3


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Since the problem shows up only when I change PHP versions I never looked at any javascript code. I will see what I can find.


Thanks for the input,

Charles
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jun 15 2014, 06:02 PM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



I found the problem and just want to report the fix.

After wracking my brain going over the code the fix turned out to be simple. The problem was the 'session.save_path' setting in the php.ini file. The web host path was wrong and I just put in a valid path and the contact form now works as it should, under both versions of PHP.

Hope this helps someone else.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st May 2024 - 07:10 PM