The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Clueless about HTML but trying to compile an eBay template, eBay template help
thebigtrees
post Jul 10 2014, 08:15 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-July 14
Member No.: 21,234



Hi,

I apologise in advance; I am quite clueless to HTML and all other forms of programming. I offered to help a friend with putting together a template for an eBay listing. I've found that my HTML design (if I could glorify it to such a status) works fine on eBay's iPhone app and also on Internet Explorer. However the tables do not format correctly in Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari which essentially renders the whole designs as being pointless. I wonder if anyone here would be so kind as to help me work through this shambles. I'm sure there's a simple fix (like back to the drawing board) that could make this display correctly.

Here's a link to the listing: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie...me=STRK:MESE:IT

Here's a link to the .txt file with the HTML code for the above: http://www.goldandsilverni.com/ebaytemplate.txt

I greatly appreciate any help in fixing this.

Thanks

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jul 10 2014, 08:44 AM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I don't know what I'm supposed to see (Safari/Mac). But trying to validate the HTML code in the text file, returns errors. Start by adding a DOCTYPE ( http://htmlhelp.com/reference/html40/html/doctype.html ) and then validate ( http://htmlhelp.com/tools/validator/direct.html.en ).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 10 2014, 09:00 AM
Post #3


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



It shows up in Firefox v30 but there are many errors. Some of the errors are: no such ending tag </meta>, remove. I would do what Frederiek recommends, validate the HTML. I also see this code:
CODE
<img alt="Feedback score: 159" title="Feedback score: 159" src="http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/icon/iconTealStar_25x25.gif"">)</span>
The <img> has an extra double quote at the closing tag. I think you want this code:
CODE
<img alt="Feedback score: 159" title="Feedback score: 159" src="http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/icon/iconTealStar_25x25.gif">)</span>
It also looks like you have some extra </span> tags around.
That text link you posted does not contain all the HTML that the listing has so it is useless.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Jul 10 2014, 09:01 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thebigtrees
post Jul 10 2014, 09:16 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-July 14
Member No.: 21,234



Thanks for your quick reply Frederiek. I'll attach some screen shops of the same parts of the listing displayed in IE and Safari to show you exactly what the problem is.

Here's the bottom of the listing in IE: http://www.goldandsilverni.com/Screenshot_IE_bottom.png

More in a sec

Thanks

This post has been edited by thebigtrees: Jul 10 2014, 09:19 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thebigtrees
post Jul 10 2014, 09:20 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-July 14
Member No.: 21,234



Here's the bottom of the listing in IE: http://www.goldandsilverni.com/Screenshot_Safari_bottom.png

More in a sec

Thanks
[/quote]
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thebigtrees
post Jul 10 2014, 09:21 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-July 14
Member No.: 21,234



Here's the top of the listing in IE: http://www.goldandsilverni.com/Screenshot_IE_top.png

More in a sec

Thanks

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thebigtrees
post Jul 10 2014, 09:22 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-July 14
Member No.: 21,234



Here's the top of the listing in Safari: http://www.goldandsilverni.com/Screenshot_Safari_top.png

That's the lot wink.gif

Thanks

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thebigtrees
post Jul 10 2014, 09:26 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-July 14
Member No.: 21,234



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Jul 10 2014, 03:00 PM) *

It shows up in Firefox v30 but there are many errors. Some of the errors are: no such ending tag </meta>, remove. I would do what Frederiek recommends, validate the HTML. I also see this code:
CODE
<img alt="Feedback score: 159" title="Feedback score: 159" src="http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/icon/iconTealStar_25x25.gif"">)</span>
The <img> has an extra double quote at the closing tag. I think you want this code:
CODE
<img alt="Feedback score: 159" title="Feedback score: 159" src="http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/icon/iconTealStar_25x25.gif">)</span>
It also looks like you have some extra </span> tags around.
That text link you posted does not contain all the HTML that the listing has so it is useless.


Thanks CharlesEF. I'll alter the link; hadn't noticed that.

All the HTML for the description that I posted on eBay should be in that .txt file? I've just downloaded the file from the server and checked?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thebigtrees
post Jul 10 2014, 09:27 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-July 14
Member No.: 21,234



I think that link is actually from eBay's end of things, not mine.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 10 2014, 10:46 AM
Post #10


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Firefox v30 shows just what your IE screen shots show.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
thebigtrees
post Jul 10 2014, 10:55 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-July 14
Member No.: 21,234



Thanks for all your help guys; you have been brilliant.

Adding the Doctype seems to have fixed the issue for all browsers.

Wouldn't have figured that out without you help. Much appreciated.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 10 2014, 12:02 PM
Post #12


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It's good you used a doctype for validation, but it didn't fix things in itself. Theoretically doctypes can make or break a page because of doctype switching.
https://hsivonen.fi/doctype/

But in this case the HTML you write is embedded in eBays page and their doctype at the top of the markup is what goes, yours becomes just another HTML error since you can't have more than one doctype.

If you wiew source at your eBay page you'll see theirs HTML5 doctype at the top and your HTML 4.01 Strict one way down in BODY. You should remove the doctype before inserting your HTML at eBay. Actually, there's also a start tag for HTML right before your doctype. Remove that too, if it comes from you that is.

So, something else you did fixed it. Not the doctype. Probably one of the errors you corrected with the help of the doctype though,
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2024 - 10:05 PM