The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to code HTML download button where filename version will change
larry78723
post Mar 15 2020, 08:26 AM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



I'm creating a webpage where the user will be able to download an .iso file. The version of the iso will change. For example: xxxx.1.iso will become xxxx.2.iso when the iso is updated. How do I code the download button so that I don't need to re-code the button when the version changes. If I were to create a download subdirectory, and the .iso file was kept there do you think this would work if the only file in the download subdirectory is the .iso file?

<?php
$files = array_slice(scandir('/download/'), 2);
?>
<div class="navbar-custom">
<a class="btn-solid-lg page-scroll" href="/Download/" download=$files>Download the App</a>
</div>

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Mar 15 2020, 04:51 PM
Post #2


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



I've tried the following method but it immediately downloads index.html and the site never loads in the browser.

<?php
$files = array();
foreach (glob("/download/*.iso") as $file) {
$files[1] = $file;
}
$file2 = "window.location.href = 'https://foxclone.com/download/' + '$file'"
?>

<div class="navbar-custom">
<button onclick="$file2" >Download the App</button>

This post has been edited by larry78723: Mar 15 2020, 04:53 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 15 2020, 05:49 PM
Post #3


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Maybe I don't understand correctly, but I think you are over thinking the problem. I would code the button to always download 'xxxx.iso'. When a new version comes out just rename 'xxxx.iso' to 'xxxx.1.iso', and so on. This way the download name will always be 'xxxx.iso'.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 15 2020, 06:10 PM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



If you are using a web server you could use server-side code (like PHP) to scan the download directory and write the last filename found into the button.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Mar 15 2020, 06:15 PM
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Mar 15 2020, 07:10 PM) *

If you are using a web server you could use server-side code (like PHP) to scan the download directory and write the last filename found into the button.


CharlesEF, that's what I've been trying to do with the code in my first two posts. Neither one is working.

Thanks for the response,
Larry
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 15 2020, 06:26 PM
Post #6


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



What language are you using? I'll use PHP to show an example:
CODE
<button onclick="<?php echo($file2);?>" >Download the App</button>
. If you post your actual script that scans the download directory then I might be of more help.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Mar 15 2020, 06:58 PM
Post #7


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,630
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Mar 16 2020, 12:10 AM) *

If you are using a web server you could use server-side code (like PHP) to scan the download directory and write the last filename found into the button.

Just be careful about relying on the server's "last modified" meta data when sorting the files. If the webhost one day decides to install new server software they may backup and then reinstall all files, resetting all file dates in the process (happened to me once). It's safer to sort the files after file name, at least if new files are named correctly.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Mar 15 2020, 07:05 PM
Post #8


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,630
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(larry78723 @ Mar 15 2020, 02:26 PM) *

$files = array_slice(scandir('/download/'), 2);

Haven't done PHP for a long time, but I think the above returns all array items after the second, compare https://www.php.net/manual/en/function.array-slice.php

If you just want the third item, maybe you could combine the above code with $files[0] ?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 15 2020, 08:42 PM
Post #9


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Here is how it should be done, according to me. biggrin.gif
CODE
$path    = '/tmp';
// keep '.'.and '..' entries
$files = scandir($path);
// remove '.'.and '..' entries
// This leaves $files as only actual files
$files = array_diff(scandir($path), array('.', '..'));
You still need to sort $files and pick the last or first entry (depending on sort order).

OR, you could use glob.
CODE
foreach(glob($download_directory.'/*') as $file) {
    ...
}


OR, you can use this free script: here

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Mar 15 2020, 08:53 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 15 2020, 10:16 PM
Post #10


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Here is a sample of what you want to do. I've never seen a button onclick download a file but that doesn't mean it won't work.
CODE
<?php
$path = "temp";
// The 2nd parameter, 1, in scandir means to sort in decending order
$files = array_diff(scandir($path, 1), array(".", ".."));
$file = $files[0];
?>
<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<html lang="en">
<head>
  <title>Scan Dir, Pick Last File</title>
</head>
<body>
<button onclick="<?php echo("/{$path}/" . $file);?>">Download the App</button>
</body>
</html>


Which produces this HTML:
CODE
<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<html lang="en">
<head>
  <title>Scan Dir, Pick Last File</title>
</head>
<body>
<button onclick="/temp/name.5.iso">Download the App</button>
</body>
</html>


This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Mar 15 2020, 10:22 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Mar 15 2020, 11:30 PM
Post #11


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Mar 15 2020, 07:26 PM) *

What language are you using? I'll use PHP to show an example:
CODE
<button onclick="<?php echo($file2);?>" >Download the App</button>
. If you post your actual script that scans the download directory then I might be of more help.


Charles, thanks for getting back to me. I re-wrote the block of code like this:

<?php
$files = array();
$files = glob('download/*.iso');
$file2 = "window.location.href = 'https://foxclone.com/'".$files[0];
?>

<div class="navbar-custom">
<button onclick=<?php echo $file2;?>Download the App</button>
</div>

I uploaded a new index.html with the code block as above and it didn't work. My download folder is located in my public_html folder and the iso is in there so it should.

I'm fairly new to web development and learning as I go.

Thanks again,
Larry
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 16 2020, 01:55 AM
Post #12


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



QUOTE(larry78723 @ Mar 15 2020, 11:30 PM) *
$files = glob('download/*.iso');
If you use glob() you have to remember that xxxx.iso will appear after all others. To get the last entry you can do this:
CODE
$file = $files[count($files) - 1];
Then just echo out the $file variable in the HTML.
QUOTE(larry78723 @ Mar 15 2020, 11:30 PM) *
$file2 = "window.location.href = 'https://foxclone.com/'".$files[0];
This will never work.
QUOTE(larry78723 @ Mar 15 2020, 11:30 PM) *
<button onclick=<?php echo $file2;?>Download the App</button>
I still don't think a button will trigger a download. I think you should use the '< a href="xxxx">Download the App< /a>' approach, just remove the space before the a and /.

If you want to use a button then the onclick should call a Javascript function. You would also need to use a 'data-url' attribute to store the file. Once clicked the function will run, be sure to pass 'this' as a parameter. In the function you use 'this' and the getAttribute command to get the 'data-url' attribute value. Then you can assign it to window.location.href, If you need any help with it just post back.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Mar 16 2020, 05:38 AM
Post #13


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,630
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Mar 16 2020, 07:55 AM) *

I still don't think a button will trigger a download.

True, an onclick event needs to be used with javascript. But with a link you can force a download with the DOWNLOAD attribute: https://davidwalsh.name/download-attribute
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Mar 16 2020, 06:25 AM
Post #14


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



QUOTE(Christian J @ Mar 16 2020, 06:38 AM) *

True, an onclick event needs to be used with javascript. But with a link you can force a download with the DOWNLOAD attribute: https://davidwalsh.name/download-attribute


Thanks to both of you. I guess my question becomes how do I insert the $file2 from

CODE
               <?php
                    $files = array();
                    $files = glob('download/*.iso');
                    $file = $files[count($files) - 1];
                    $file2 = "window.location.href = 'https://foxclone.com/'".$file;
                  ?>

into

CODE
<button onclick=<a href="?????">Download the App</a></button>


Is it just a matter of replacing "?????" with $file2?

This post has been edited by larry78723: Mar 16 2020, 06:35 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Mar 16 2020, 08:15 AM
Post #15


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



Would I be better off trying to use jquery to get the filename instead of php?

Disregard, just realized jquery acts locally, not on the server.

This post has been edited by larry78723: Mar 16 2020, 08:19 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Mar 16 2020, 08:27 AM
Post #16


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Mar 16 2020, 02:55 AM) *

If you want to use a button then the onclick should call a Javascript function. You would also need to use a 'data-url' attribute to store the file. Once clicked the function will run, be sure to pass 'this' as a parameter. In the function you use 'this' and the getAttribute command to get the 'data-url' attribute value. Then you can assign it to window.location.href, If you need any help with it just post back.

Charles, I don't understand how to use the getAttribute command to get the value returned from $file.

Thanks again for your help,
Larry
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 16 2020, 09:20 AM
Post #17


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



If you are a beginner then you must understand the difference between server side and client side. PHP is server side, meaning it only runs when the web server is serving the page to the browser. Once the page is done loading then Javascript, client side, takes over. 'getAttribute' is a Javascript command and can only be used client side.

I explained the Javascript side thinking you could do some web searches, I always learn better when I do my own web searches. All PHP can do is place the $file value into the 'data-url' attribute of the button. If you take this route then write some code and post it here, if you need any help.

I still think you can get this to work using an anchor tag '< a >'
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Mar 16 2020, 12:34 PM
Post #18


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,630
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Mar 16 2020, 03:20 PM) *

I still think you can get this to work using an anchor tag '< a >'

Yes there's no point at all in using a form button, and it doesn't let you use the DOWNLOAD attribute either. You can always make a link look like a button with CSS if you want.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
larry78723
post Mar 16 2020, 07:00 PM
Post #19


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 5-March 20
Member No.: 27,220



QUOTE(Christian J @ Mar 16 2020, 01:34 PM) *

QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Mar 16 2020, 03:20 PM) *

I still think you can get this to work using an anchor tag '< a >'

Yes there's no point at all in using a form button, and it doesn't let you use the DOWNLOAD attribute either. You can always make a link look like a button with CSS if you want.


OK guys, you've convinced me about using an anchor tag. Now my question is how do I put the result of a php glob into it. Code follows:
CODE

                 <?php
                    $files = array();
                    $files = glob('download/*.iso');
                    $file2 = "window.location.href = 'https://foxclone.com/'".$files[0];
                  ?>
                <li class="nav-item">
                    <a href="<?php echo $file2;?>" download>DOWNLOAD</a>       <----Doesn't work, get syntax error
                </li>


Thanks in advance
Larry

This post has been edited by larry78723: Mar 16 2020, 07:16 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Mar 16 2020, 10:35 PM
Post #20


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



QUOTE(larry78723 @ Mar 16 2020, 06:25 AM) *
Thanks to both of you. I guess my question becomes how do I insert the $file2 from

CODE
               <?php
                    $files = array();
                    $files = glob('download/*.iso');
                    $file = $files[count($files) - 1];
                    $file2 = "window.location.href = 'https://foxclone.com/'".$file;
                  ?>

into

CODE
<button onclick=<a href="?????">Download the App</a></button>


Is it just a matter of replacing "?????" with $file2?
I didn't see this post before but here goes. In the PHP code $file2 is useless and should be removed, the entire line, because of the way href works it will NEVER work. You want to insert $file into the href attribute, like this:
CODE
<a href="<?php echo "/{$file}";?>" download>DOWNLOAD</a>
Notice the '/' at the start of the href. That represents the home directory. This means your download directory is located under your public_html directory.

Hope this helps, post back if you have any other questions.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 07:20 AM