The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> French Characters not displayed properly
htmllearner44
post Jun 17 2013, 06:48 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-June 13
Member No.: 19,303



Hi,

The french accent characters in my webpage are not displayed properly. I am using utf-8 with the meta tag as below, but the web page is not displaying the accent character properly. So I tried ISO-8859-1 which spoils the CSS formatting in my webpage . So I am really stuck now. Please help!!!

<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />

Thanks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jun 17 2013, 07:35 AM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Please post the url to the page.
BTW, have you also saved the file itself in Unicode (UTF-8) in your text-editor?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 17 2013, 07:56 AM
Post #3


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



What Frederiek said. Also, if the server sends another character encoding in a HTTP header, it would override your meta tag.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
htmllearner44
post Jun 17 2013, 09:36 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-June 13
Member No.: 19,303



Thanks Frederiek & Pandy.
There are no server imposements in these webpages. I have a set of webpages which are called using href for mockup.
So a sample HTML file that I use is below and the documents are saved in UTF-8 format using notepad++


<!doctype html>

<html lang="en">

<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>statement</title>
<link href="http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Open+Sans:300,700" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="../assets/css/base.css" />
<script src="../assets/js/jquery-1.8.2.min.js"></script>
<script src="../assets/js/jquery.easing.min.js"></script>
<script src="../assets/js/jquery.cookie.js"></script>
<script src="../assets/js/base.min.js"></script>
<script src="../assets/js/SNT.js"></script>
</head>

<body id="statement">

<div id="container">

<div id="content">

<div id="content-left">

<div id="logo"><img src="../assets/images/logo.png" alt="Statement" width="212" height="61" /></div>

<div class="left top opacity-40">

<h2>Relevé</h2>

</div></div></div></div>

</body>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jun 17 2013, 09:46 AM
Post #5


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



That works for me (saved in BBEdit (Mac only) which I have set to save with UTF-8 by default). Even if I resave the file with ISO latin 1.

I am talking about the character encoding of the file itself when you save it. I hope you understood that.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 17 2013, 10:01 AM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(htmllearner44 @ Jun 17 2013, 04:36 PM) *

There are no server imposements in these webpages.


Do you mean you view them locally on your own computer?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Number2
post Jun 17 2013, 10:56 AM
Post #7


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 13-May 13
Member No.: 19,156



Oddly enough, I'm seeing all kinds of characters - like the Cicero quote marks - showing up as little boxes. It's only happening here so far, and only in the posts. I have UTF-8 as the default.

QUOTE(pandy @ Jun 17 2013, 05:56 AM) *

What Frederiek said. Also, if the server sends another character encoding in a HTTP header, it would override your meta tag.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 17 2013, 11:17 AM
Post #8


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I also do actually, but only recently. It looks like the forum has started to convert my quote entities to *gulp* curly quotes. They are like that even in the field where I edit my signature. I'll as Darin if there has been a recent upgrade to the forum and replace my quotes with simple ones.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
htmllearner44
post Jun 17 2013, 11:50 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-June 13
Member No.: 19,303



Yes. I understood that. I can see the encoding of the file is UTF-8 (encoding tab in notepad++) and it gives me the options to convert them to other encoding as well.

QUOTE(Frederiek @ Jun 17 2013, 03:46 PM) *

That works for me (saved in BBEdit (Mac only) which I have set to save with UTF-8 by default). Even if I resave the file with ISO latin 1.

I am talking about the character encoding of the file itself when you save it. I hope you understood that.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
htmllearner44
post Jun 17 2013, 11:51 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-June 13
Member No.: 19,303



QUOTE(pandy @ Jun 17 2013, 04:01 PM) *

QUOTE(htmllearner44 @ Jun 17 2013, 04:36 PM) *

There are no server imposements in these webpages.


Do you mean you view them locally on your own computer?


Yes. I view them locally on my own computer.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 17 2013, 12:07 PM
Post #11


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Maybe you enforce the wrong character encoding in your browser. Have you checked?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jun 18 2013, 01:38 AM
Post #12


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



@Pandy
Ah, now the quotes in your sig are correct. I already wondered why they weren't. I didn't change anything in my browser.

@OP
Lets try this: post a file that you can attach in a reply.
Then, we don't have to copy/paste/save in an editor that is already set to UTF-8.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 18 2013, 02:35 AM
Post #13


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,733
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I didn't change anything either. The board did. Well, now I've changed to plain quotes and a plain hyphen.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th April 2024 - 11:31 AM