The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> multiple CSS sheets or cram into a single sheet, Multiple html pages single sheet or one for each
jimbondy
post Dec 22 2022, 11:16 PM
Post #1

Novice

Group: Members
Member No.: 28,646

Hello.
I'm kind of new to HTML, CSS, and js and wondering what is the most efficient way to go. I will have about 8 pages on the website which I'm creating. My 'home' sheet is completed in both HTML & CSS but there is a fair amount of CSS code. I was thinking that it would be a lot cleaner, (& less confusing), to create a different CSS page for each HTML page. There are similarities among the 8 pages but plenty of alterations throughout, so I would copy everything from the 'home' page to each and make the necessary changes.
I don't see this as a problem to do

1) is this good practice or considered a faux pas?
2)Will it create an issue when I upload to GitHub?
3) Do you have an alternate recommendation?

If I put it all on one CSS page with a smattering of comments throughout pointing to the 8 pages, it will be a mess and quite unreadable, not to mention clunky for the server.

I very much appreciate any help you can give me.
JimmyB

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 23 2022, 12:54 AM
Post #2

🌟Computer says no🌟

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 6

It's a matter of taste, anything goes. Since you say a lot of things are common and that your style sheet is growing big, you could put the common stuff in one style sheet (that you link to from every page) and then make separate style sheets for the individual styling.

You could also just have sections in the main style sheet for those page specific styles. For readability, I mean. Maybe you don't know that you can target a specific page by putting an id in the BODY tag?