The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Form Input Not Working?
Rayj00
post Mar 22 2024, 09:28 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 1-June 20
Member No.: 27,369



I have a form with 20 inputs. They all work except one.
By work I mean subsequently, a php script can read the $_POST
and update a mySQL database. But the following one is not
working, as the subsequent $_POST is empty?

For some reason the html looks like it's not working.

I have the following html:

<li id="li_15" >
<label class="description" for="element_15">Property Identification Number: </label>

<div>
<input id="element_15" class="myDiv" type="text" maxlength="30" name='propertypin' Required />
</div>
</li>

The subsequent $propertypin = ($_POST['propertypin']); echo ("\n<h2>Propertypin = $propertypin </h2>\n"); returns nothing,
while the other 19 $_POST's are fine.

This is pretty simple stuff but I am pulling my hair trying to fix it!!

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Ray
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Mar 22 2024, 11:52 AM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,673
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



The following works for me:

CODE
<form method="post">
<ul>
<li id="li_15" >
<label class="description" for="element_15">Property Identification Number: </label>

<div>
<input id="element_15" class="myDiv" type="text" maxlength="30" name='propertypin' Required />
</div>
</li>
</ul>

<input type="submit" value="Send">
</form>

<?php

$propertypin = ($_POST['propertypin']);
echo ("\n<h2>Propertypin = $propertypin </h2>\n");

?>

(of course you should sanitize the POST data before using it in a database query, or even writing it to a web page).

What do the other INPUT fields look like? Do you have more than one with the same NAME "propertypin"?

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ran
post Today, 11:01 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: Yesterday, 12:45 AM
Member No.: 29,176



Check HTML Form Structure and Ensure that your <input> element is inside a <form> tag and that the form's method is set to "post".
Ensure there are no typos in the name attribute of your <input> element. It should be name="propertypin", not name='propertypin'.

Verify that there are no other form elements with the same name="propertypin" as this can cause conflicts. Ensure that the form is being submitted correctly and that no JavaScript or other code is interfering with the submission process in Official Website

Double-check your PHP script to make sure it’s correctly handling the form data. Use browser developer tools (right-click on the page and select "Inspect") to make sure the input field is rendered correctly and the form is being submitted as expected. If the required attribute is not being handled as expected, try removing it temporarily to see if it affects the submission. Make sure there are no JavaScript errors on the page that might prevent the form from being submitted correctly.

By going through these steps, you should be able to pinpoint what’s causing the issue with the input field not being submitted.

This post has been edited by ran: Today, 11:03 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th May 2024 - 11:43 PM