The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rich Text form fields not being displayed
neilc
post Feb 17 2020, 12:54 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-February 20
Member No.: 27,171



Hi we have a website using Umbraco as our front end which has some Quill rich text multiline fields on the page. We are having reports of users not being able to see the fields and therefore not being able to enter mandatory information. Through all the troubleshooting we have not been able to replicate this on any OS/browser.

The question is quite generic, are there any settings either at a firewall level or system/browser level that would stop rich text boxes being displayed? We have toyed with SSL/TLS/Cookies/JS etc and we just cannot replicate the issue. I think the page also uses iframes.

Thanks in advance
Neil
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 17 2020, 04:43 PM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,648
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



My guess the problem is either JS, frames or CSS and maybe older browser versions on the user side. But without seeing the page no one will be able to tell...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
neilc
post Feb 17 2020, 05:13 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-February 20
Member No.: 27,171



QUOTE(pandy @ Feb 17 2020, 09:43 PM) *

My guess the problem is either JS, frames or CSS and maybe older browser versions on the user side. But without seeing the page no one will be able to tell...

Thanks Pandy, it’s going to be difficult for you to see it in action as we are a regulator and we don’t have test accounts in the live system and you need to be logged in to see that page. I may be able to get source code. Or are there any tools I can use to check compatibility?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 17 2020, 05:56 PM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,648
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Well, since you seem to be in contact with the problem users you could find out what systems and browsers they run and then try with those browsers for yourself. You could also try to find out if they are running with JS turned off or if any other restrictive means are applied.

If that's not possible, at least try some older versions of common browsers. Try without JS and so on. I'm not familiar with Quill, but many editors of that type relies heavily on JS.

That's all I can think of.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
neilc
post Feb 18 2020, 03:00 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-February 20
Member No.: 27,171



That's where I have hit a block. I have users with the seemingly same setup, it works for one and not the other. I've span up VM's matching their setup and I cannot get it to not work. If JS is disabled it wont let you log in to even get to that page. I have literally tried mac, windows 7 and 10, edge, chrome, firefox, safari, ie, and it works every time for me.

That's what has led me to believe it could be being blocked at a firewall level or a GPO or something.

Thanks for the assistance, i'll keep plodding...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Feb 18 2020, 07:27 AM
Post #6


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 8,358
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



An adblocker maybe? Different user font size, or window size? Is the problem consistent (otherwise it might be some third party script file that didn't download properly)?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 10th April 2020 - 03:07 PM