The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HTML page not showing
Sakura
post Jul 16 2008, 05:33 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-July 08
Member No.: 6,200



Hey, I've just finished creating a website for a company who has hired me more for the graphical aspects than the coding (I'm about an average website designer)
Anyway, I've created the site, it looks good but is probably not exactly perfect in the coding. I've done most of it in Dreamweaver which is a first for me.
I uploaded the site on ulmb.com for everyone to see before it actually went live, and it worked fine. After uploading it on godaddy.com it's not actually working at all.
Users can see the front page of the site, but when they click away from the front page, the page seems to load but is blank with "Done" at the bottom of the page.

The strange thing about this website is there are two sites in one. It is set out like this:

Business site ----------------Front Page ------------------- Consumer Site.


I thought that it might be the 3 index.html pages, but when I changed the index on both sites it still didn't work. The consumer site DOES contain a simple javascript script to change the background depending on what time of day it is, but the other site doesn't.

Also, the site works completely fine on my computer and my bosses, just not anyone elses.

Any advice?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 16 2008, 05:56 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,332
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Can you provide the URL (address) of a document that demonstrates the problem?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sakura
post Jul 16 2008, 06:02 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-July 08
Member No.: 6,200



www.vegechips.com
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 16 2008, 06:23 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,332
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



So, how do you reproduce the problem exactly? I didn't notice any problems after following the links to both the "consumer" and "business" pages, and after following one of the links in the left navbar of each page.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 16 2008, 06:36 PM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,810
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



The consumer page is blank in IE.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sakura
post Jul 16 2008, 06:37 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-July 08
Member No.: 6,200



My computer deals with it completely fine, but 3 client computers on my network won't open anything but the first index page. I have NO idea what is doing that.

This post has been edited by Sakura: Jul 16 2008, 06:38 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 16 2008, 06:40 PM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,810
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It isn't about computers. It's about browsers and their different bugs and, in this case, their different error handling.

Here's the cause. The second error (line 19).
http://www.htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.c...s&input=yes
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sakura
post Jul 16 2008, 07:10 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-July 08
Member No.: 6,200



That didn't seem to help, pandy. I deleted the </p> and it's still not showing on other computers, even after deleting cookies.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 16 2008, 07:18 PM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,810
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Not the P. Hm. Now the line numbers have changed. This error.

CODE

Line 8, character 7:
</head>
      ^Error: end tag for SCRIPT omitted; possible causes include a missing end tag, improper nesting of elements, or use of an element where it is not allowed


You have omitted the closing tag for the last SCRIPT. Thus the whole page is part of a script block.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Sakura
post Jul 16 2008, 08:00 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-July 08
Member No.: 6,200



Oh thank you so much! I hate it when you miss one tag and the whole thing breaks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st June 2020 - 12:55 AM