Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Animated GIF not working in browser
HTMLHelp Forums > Web Authoring > Graphics, Flash and Multimedia
klarko4444
Hello,

It's me again wink.gif I am a full time athlete and part time designer so I am still learning some basic things here, thanks for your patience and thank you in advance for your help smile.gif

I have created a simple animated GIF using Fireworks CS3 for a website I am updating. It is a bunch of images, chosen by my client, that loop around and around. I have added a bit of a fade between them by using varying opacity degrees of duplicate frames. It plays perfectly in Fireworks but when I preview in browser, the fade does not show up. I have tried reseting safari and emptying the cache...any suggestions as to what is going wrong?

Thanks again.

Claire.
Christian J
The GIF image format doesn't support varying opacity.

You might achieve a fade effect with a javascript slideshow instead of using a single GIF image.
klarko4444
Interesting, I've done this before in other websites I've done. Actually, I have an animated GIF on the side bar that I created using varying opacity. http://www.nsdynamics.com.au/

But I will look into a javascript slideshow. Thank you.

Claire.
pandy
I think Christian thought you meant "true transparency" when you can see the background through the image. Your individual images are flattened. You have overlayed one image with another semi-transparent image and merged them into one. That you can obviously do. I may not use the right terms here, but I hope you get what I mean.

Can you show the animated GIF that isn't working?
pandy
BTW I think what you've done is called Onion Skin. At least it's very close to an Onion Skin effect.
klarko4444
Hello, I have tried to attach the file in both png and animated gif format but it won't upload, I think the file is too big....
Frederiek
You can zip (archive) it and upload that. It then should weigh less.
klarko4444