Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Layers (Or Overlapping?)
HTMLHelp Forums > Web Authoring > Markup (HTML, XHTML, XML)
sonic4
So I want to add a layer above my background image but I don't know how. I want to say that I can achieve it via z-index but I'm not entirely sure. I'm new to web development (but I'm practicing what I know).

Here's an example: http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/sonic/...=20100421153709

Notice that the layer with the content is "hovering" over the background.

Thank you.
pandy
That image is tiny. Do you mean that that the menu seems to be transparent or semi-transparent?
sonic4
I'm so sorry. It looks fine on my end.

Here (I marked on this one so you can see what I mean): http://imgur.com/a/51F45

I marked the overlapped content with a red border. You see how it hovers (I want to say that's the proper term) over the dark blue background? How can I achieve that?
pandy
I'm sorry, but it's still too small and too poor quality for me to see anything special. Just looks like left and right margin to me, but I guess that's not what you mean.

Since it looks like a screen cap of an image that's a screen cap of a webpage, can't you just link to the webpage?
sonic4
That site's long gone but I had to use it as my example.

I accidentally answered my question, though. I have to use <div> elements to achieve "overlapping".

That begs the question as to what z-indexes are for.
pandy
It may be needed - or not. Positioned boxes are automatically on top of not positioned boxes. If two positioned boxes overlap, the one that comes last in the HTML is on top. Only if you need to change that order do you need z-index.

My screen is breaking down, which is another reason for me not seeing what you want me to see in that image.
sonic4
Thank you for your assistance. So for z-indexes, would the following be true:

z-index: -1 (bottom)
z-index: -2 (top)

since -2 is less than -1?
pandy