Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: frames don't work in IE
HTMLHelp Forums > Web Authoring > General Web Design
keytone
I built my site using Google Chrome / YaHoo and it looks great in my browser. I am pretty new to HTML, but have picked it up pretty fast. I tried a simple framset with a row across the top and the remainder divided into 2 columns.
It works great for my browser, but in Internet Explorer I only get a blank frameset page. I've heard of this before somewhere but can't remember. Can anyone hlp me out?
The homepage is
JD's Mountain

The opening frameset page is
JD's Mountain

Thank you very much for any help! JD (John) wacko.gif

pandy
The page is blank in FF and Opera too. Browsers recover in different ways and to a different extent from HTML errors. One browser may successfully fix a HTML error for you when another one won't.
http://htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.cgi?u...s&input=yes

In a frameset document you don't have a BODY element. It's replaced by FRAMESET. Those browsers that don't display your frameset see BODY and and ignore your frames related tags because they cannot occur inside BODY. Safari and Chrome take the other approach and ignore BODY.

Note that you can have BODY inside NOFRAMES though. But then the purpose is to present alternate content to a browser that can't display frames.

See here for the structure of a complete frameset document.
http://htmlhelp.com/reference/html40/frames/frameset.html

Use the validator frequently. It's a good learning tool. And check your page in as many browsers as you can. Safari and Chrome are built on the same rendering engine, so it was no surprise your page worked in my Safari Windows. Then there are gecko based browsers (FireFox, K-Meleon and others), Opera and IE just to mention the main ones. In addition to that different versions of each browser have their own quirks, especially IE that is very different between versions.