The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> PopUp menu doesn't show
C-j-123
post Jun 1 2007, 09:44 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-May 07
Member No.: 2,952



As part of ICT Coursework, I've had to design a site, Im only a little way through it and ran into this little problem.
I tryed using Dreamweaver behaviours to make a pop up menu appear when the Navigation button is click but nothing happens.

I could use the show/hide layer if I needed to, but this ways much quicker and less messy so, may as well try to fix it.

Site: http://nfsmx.12gbfree.com/main.htm

Site Code:
CODE
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<title>NFS Mx - Homepage</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript"
>function mmLoadMenus() {
if (window.mm_menu_0602020623_0) return;
window.mm_menu_0602020623_0 = new Menu("root",85,18,"Tahoma",12,"#FFFFFF","#996600","#333333","#000033","left","middle",3,0,1000,-5,7,true,true,true,0,true,true);
mm_menu_0602020623_0.addMenuItem("New Item");
mm_menu_0602020623_0.addMenuItem("New Item");
mm_menu_0602020623_0.hideOnMouseOut=true;
mm_menu_0602020623_0.bgColor='#555555';
mm_menu_0602020623_0.menuBorder=2;
mm_menu_0602020623_0.menuLiteBgColor='#FFFFFF';
mm_menu_0602020623_0.menuBorderBgColor='#000000';

mm_menu_0602020623_0.writeMenus();
} // mmLoadMenus()<!--
function MM_reloadPage(init) { //reloads the window if Nav4 resized
if (init==true) with (navigator) {if ((appName=="Netscape")&&(parseInt(appVersion)==4)) {
document.MM_pgW=innerWidth; document.MM_pgH=innerHeight; onresize=MM_reloadPage; }}
else if (innerWidth!=document.MM_pgW || innerHeight!=document.MM_pgH) location.reload();
}
MM_reloadPage(true);

function MM_preloadImages() { //v3.0
var d=document; if(d.images){ if(!d.MM_p) d.MM_p=new Array();
var i,j=d.MM_p.length,a=MM_preloadImages.arguments; for(i=0; i<a.length; i++)
if (a[i].indexOf("#")!=0){ d.MM_p[j]=new Image; d.MM_p[j++].src=a[i];}}
}

function MM_swapImgRestore() { //v3.0
var i,x,a=document.MM_sr; for(i=0;a&&i<a.length&&(x=a[i])&&x.oSrc;i++) x.src=x.oSrc;
}

function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01
var p,i,x; if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) {
d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);}
if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[i][n];
for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers[i].document);
if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;
}

function MM_swapImage() { //v3.0
var i,j=0,x,a=MM_swapImage.arguments; document.MM_sr=new Array; for(i=0;i<(a.length-2);i+=3)
if ((x=MM_findObj(a[i]))!=null){document.MM_sr[j++]=x; if(!x.oSrc) x.oSrc=x.src; x.src=a[i+2];}
}
//-->
</script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="mm_menu.js"></script>
</head>

<body bgcolor="#000000" onLoad="MM_preloadImages('Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/MxNetworkOVER.png','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/The%20GameOVER.png','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/GuidesOVER.png','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/CheatsOver.png','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/DownloadsOVER.png')">
<script language="JavaScript1.2">mmLoadMenus();</script>
<!-- HeaderBegin -->

<div id="MainBody" style="position:absolute; left:126; top:0px; width:767px; height:1000px; z-index:1; background-color: #333333; layer-background-color: #333333; border: 1px none #000000; background-image: url(Images/Backgrounds/Mainbgbeta.png); layer-background-image: url(Images/Backgrounds/Mainbgbeta.png);">
</div>

<div id="Title" style="position:absolute; left:127px; top:0px; width:765px; height:120px; z-index:2;"><img src="Images/BetaTitle%20copy.png" width="765" height="120"></div>
<!-- MenuBegin -->

<div id="MenuBG" style="position:absolute; left:127px; top:120px; width:765px; height:35px; z-index:3; background-image: url(Images/menu%20Bar.png); layer-background-image: url(Images/menu%20Bar.png); border: 1px none #000000;"></div>


<!-- Buttons Begin -->

<!-- Getting the button is Hit and Miss, But using L= Prevous L + W + 3 Helps -->
<div id="NxNetworkButton" style="position:absolute; left:192px; top:120px; width:124px; height:34px; z-index:9"><a href="#" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore();MM_startTimeout();" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('Image2','','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/MxNetworkOVER.png',1);MM_showMenu(window.mm_menu_0602020623_0,122,32,null,'Image2')"><img src="Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/MxNetwork.png" name="Image2" width="125" height="35" border="0"></a></div>
<div id="TheSeriesButton" style="position:absolute; left:318px; top:120px; width:124px; height:34px; z-index:10"><a href="#" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('Image3','','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/The%20GameOVER.png',1)" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()"><img src="Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/the%20games.png" name="Image3" width="125" height="35" border="0"></a></div>
<div id="GuidesButton" style="position:absolute; left:444px; top:120px; width:124px; height:34px; z-index:11"><a href="#" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('Image4','','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/GuidesOVER.png',1)"><img src="Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/Guides.png" name="Image4" width="125" height="35" border="0"></a></div>
<div id="CheatsButton" style="position:absolute; left:570px; top:120px; width:124px; height:34px; z-index:12"><a href="#" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('Image5','','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/CheatsOver.png',1)"><img src="Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/Cheats.png" name="Image5" width="125" height="35" border="0"></a></div>
<div id="DownloadsButton" style="position:absolute; left:696px; top:120px; width:124px; height:34px; z-index:13"><a href="#" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('Image6','','Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/DownloadsOVER.png',1)"><img src="Images/Buttons/Beta%20Template/Downloads.png" name="Image6" width="125" height="35" border="0"></a></div>

<!-- Buttons End -->

<!-- Menu End -->

<!-- AudioPlayer Begin -->
<div id="MusicPlayer" style="position:absolute; left:127px; top:154px; width:765px; height:25px; z-index:8; background-color: #000000; layer-background-color: #000000; border: 1px none #000000;">
<div align="center"><font color="#FFFFFF">The NFS Mx Audio Player is Underconstruction</font></div>
</div>
<!-- AudioPlayer End -->
</body>

</html>


Tab Appearence:
IPB Image


(Sorry for the lengh,just last time something went screwy with this site, I had to add all this).

Had the idea it was due to the layers limited size, but then I tryed it on the biggest and it still did not work.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also, Could someone tell me how to stream a radiostation so I wouldn't have to fill my AudioPlayers folder with tons of mp3 files.

This post has been edited by Darin McGrew: Jun 2 2007, 12:42 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jun 2 2007, 12:47 AM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,017
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



FWIW, your site navigation is completely dependent upon JavaScript. At the very least, you should put real URLs into the href attributes.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
C-j-123
post Jun 2 2007, 06:11 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-May 07
Member No.: 2,952



As the site is mostly going to be used on a local server, since thats how coursework examiners use them, the full link going to a website wouldn't work or count.
And using as a link to another file as a full adress wouldn't, due to the files constanly being transfered from my comp, to a flash drive and to the school PC server.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jun 2 2007, 06:27 AM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,433
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



You have HTML comment errors in the script. But even after eliminating them, the script doesn't seem to work. I never understood the extremely complicated javascripts DW always creates. I suggest you go see at javascriptkit.com or use CSS to create menu's.


--------------------
"The earth does not belong to us. We belong to the earth."
from Vue du ciel (in French)

"Leave scepticism to others and take action"
from HOME by Goodplanet

An inconvenient truth by Al Gore
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
C-j-123
post Jun 2 2007, 06:46 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-May 07
Member No.: 2,952



Ahhh, CSS is..... really.... REALLY annoying, I can understand really complex php and html, but can't even get the basics of css for some weird reason.

I'll check out those links!

If I used fireworks to make hotspots that show the pop up menus, would that leave the document still editable? or would it make it into a huge table based thing?

This post has been edited by C-j-123: Jun 2 2007, 06:47 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jun 2 2007, 07:29 AM
Post #6


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,433
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I don't know, I don't use Fireworks. I handcode everything.
CSS isn't really so difficult. Sooner or later, you're better off to learn about it.
Go see: Where can I learn about CSS?.


--------------------
"The earth does not belong to us. We belong to the earth."
from Vue du ciel (in French)

"Leave scepticism to others and take action"
from HOME by Goodplanet

An inconvenient truth by Al Gore
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
C-j-123
post Jun 2 2007, 07:47 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-May 07
Member No.: 2,952



Thanks, I'll try to learn it!

*P.S. Fireworks just basicly puts in a Co-rd code (I think thats what its called)*
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2014 - 03:42 AM