The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> NEED HELP..., I am trying to make my website access a txt file for easy updates....
LmNt~oX
post May 21 2007, 08:36 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 21-May 07
Member No.: 2,879



i am writing a website in html using Kompozer for Ubuntu ver Fiesty Fawn (7.04) that might not be applicable; but non the less i am trying to make a section on my index.html that when it loads, as apposed to having the text written into the HTML i want either a form or table to access a txt file i know it can be done i am just unsure on how to do so... any help would be much appreciated biggrin.gif because i have been more frustrated than i would like to admit blink.gif if you have msn you can either email me or chat with me at lmnt.ox@gmail.com


--------------------
thats right... i'm that fat kid !~
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post May 21 2007, 10:02 PM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,195
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Server Side Includes (SSI), PHP inludes...
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/design.html#include-file


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
markei
post Oct 31 2007, 01:53 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 30-October 07
Member No.: 4,192



QUOTE(pandy @ May 21 2007, 11:02 PM) *

Server Side Includes (SSI), PHP inludes...
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/design.html#include-file

If you just want a section of your site to change, use an include, which can be very useful, such as using a single template page and sending a variable name that designates an include file name - here's a page that describes includes in php:
http://php.about.com/od/advancedphp/ss/include_files.htm
- but if you need to order your data, you may want to use a database.
You can use a "Flat File" database for a php site, which is a database in a text file.
One example here, you can Google for more examples:
http://www.designdetector.com/archives/04/...atabaseDemo.php

Hope it helps!
markei
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 12:06 PM