The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> There are gaps...help.., Gaps.
raymacsor
post Aug 29 2006, 11:34 PM
Post #1


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 31



Hey guyz im juz new on HTML. I just want to ask how to let the gaps disappear each icons has a gap .See attach

This post has been edited by raymacsor: Aug 29 2006, 11:37 PM


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 29 2006, 11:38 PM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,623
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Nothing attached! tongue.gif

I suspect this is what you are looking for though.
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/images.html#image-nospace


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 29 2006, 11:40 PM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,623
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



OK, now there is an attachment. That looks like an extra table column.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
raymacsor
post Aug 29 2006, 11:45 PM
Post #4


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 31



QUOTE(pandy @ Aug 29 2006, 11:40 PM) *

OK, now there is an attachment. That looks like an extra table column.




wat should il do??
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
raymacsor
post Aug 29 2006, 11:56 PM
Post #5


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 31



but i put it on a table.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 30 2006, 12:03 AM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,623
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Yes, but if I understand it right the table has one column too many. Can you post a link to the page instead so we can see the code?


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 30 2006, 12:10 AM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,623
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Wait, I think I misunderstood the picture. I didn't understand that the long green swirl is actually an image. I thought you had marked the unwanted space out with green.

In that case the answer is probably in the FAQ I posted a link to. But as said, we'd need to see the page to know for sure.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
raymacsor
post Aug 30 2006, 12:33 AM
Post #8


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 31



ok here: http://www.geocities.com/raymacsor/index.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 30 2006, 01:01 AM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,623
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It's a combination of whitespace in your code (explained in the FAQ I linked to) and that you have many mistakes in your code. There are lose tags sprinkled a little here and there, many closing tags are missing, sometimes start tags are missing and so on. I'm afraid you have to correct all that before it can work.

You can use the validator to find the errors. Some of them come from the code geocities insert, so it's better if you validate a local copy of the page.

http://www.htmlhelp.com/tools/validator/
http://www.htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.c...mp;warnings=yes

You have to go through it and correct one error at the time. You could also read some tables tutorial so you understand how to construct a table and that the elements and tags must be in a certain order. You'll get the hang of it. It just takes a little training and swearing. smile.gif


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
raymacsor
post Aug 30 2006, 08:30 AM
Post #10


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 31



QUOTE(pandy @ Aug 30 2006, 01:01 AM) *

It's a combination of whitespace in your code (explained in the FAQ I linked to) and that you have many mistakes in your code. There are lose tags sprinkled a little here and there, many closing tags are missing, sometimes start tags are missing and so on. I'm afraid you have to correct all that before it can work.

You can use the validator to find the errors. Some of them come from the code geocities insert, so it's better if you validate a local copy of the page.

http://www.htmlhelp.com/tools/validator/
http://www.htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.c...mp;warnings=yes

You have to go through it and correct one error at the time. You could also read some tables tutorial so you understand how to construct a table and that the elements and tags must be in a certain order. You'll get the hang of it. It just takes a little training and swearing. smile.gif




thanx
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
raymacsor
post Aug 31 2006, 08:57 AM
Post #11


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 31



can anyone help me edit my code??

This post has been edited by raymacsor: Aug 31 2006, 08:59 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Aug 31 2006, 10:14 AM
Post #12


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,025
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



What didn't you understand about the FAQ entry that pandy suggested you read?


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
John Pozadzides
post Aug 31 2006, 10:29 AM
Post #13


WDG Founder
******

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 529
Joined: 3-August 06
From: Frisco, TX
Member No.: 2



QUOTE(raymacsor @ Aug 31 2006, 08:57 AM) *
can anyone help me edit my code??

Ray,

I took a look at the source code, and I hate to tell you this but that code is so malformed I don't think it can really be "fixed". It basically needs to be re-written. In fact, it is so invalid that I am surprised it renders as well as it does. I would expect the page to be very, very broken.

Given the state of that code I don't think anyone is going to help correct it because it would require a day's worth of work. Plus anyone who would want to help would need to download all the images, the style sheet, etc and basically recreate the site locally. This is a lot to ask of someone who is just volunteering their time and energy to help.

I have two suggestions for you:
  1. The first thing you can do is search for the words "border=1 bordercolor=black" in your HTML for this page and delete them. This is what is causing the annoying black lines everywhere.
  2. I would recommend that you scrap this layout all together and find an alternative one that offers simpler code to get you started.
Since I think you mentioned previously that you are fairly new to HTML, this is a rather advanced layout for you to start with. I would recommend a simpler approach until you get a little more familiar.

Take care,

John


--------------------
John Pozadzides
Founder, WDG
My latest Blog posts:
One Man's Blog
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
raymacsor
post Aug 31 2006, 05:43 PM
Post #14


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 31



thanx
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 08:53 AM