The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Spry Menus horizontal spacing, Having trouble with spacing the horizontal Nav
DaddyLongLegs
post Jul 23 2012, 02:54 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 17,478



I cannot seem to even out my spacing in my horizontal nav bar.
I can just about get it right in chrome and firefox, but IE drops "Home: down to the next line....Argh

www.bellasarno.com

Thank you for helping
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies(1 - 9)
Darin McGrew
post Jul 23 2012, 11:09 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,008
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I'm confused. I don't see any horizontal nav bar.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 24 2012, 12:59 AM
Post #3


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,367
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You must click the Enter link.
http://www.bellasarno.com/The-Restaurant.html


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Rayb
post Jul 24 2012, 01:41 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-December 11
From: Aberdeen, Scotland
Member No.: 16,034



QUOTE(DaddyLongLegs @ Jul 23 2012, 02:54 PM) *

I cannot seem to even out my spacing in my horizontal nav bar.
I can just about get it right in chrome and firefox, but IE drops "Home: down to the next line....Argh

www.bellasarno.com

Thank you for helping


Hi daddylonglesgs

Try spacing out your elements using fixed CSS widths
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
DaddyLongLegs
post Jul 24 2012, 09:31 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 17,478



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Jul 24 2012, 12:09 AM) *

I'm confused. I don't see any horizontal nav bar.

If you followed the link and you don't see any horizontal nav bar, I'm not sure what to sayl
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
DaddyLongLegs
post Jul 24 2012, 09:35 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 17,478



QUOTE(Rayb @ Jul 24 2012, 02:41 AM) *

QUOTE(DaddyLongLegs @ Jul 23 2012, 02:54 PM) *

I cannot seem to even out my spacing in my horizontal nav bar.
I can just about get it right in chrome and firefox, but IE drops "Home: down to the next line....Argh

www.bellasarno.com

Thank you for helping


Hi daddylonglesgs

Try spacing out your
elements using fixed CSS widths


thank you; will you please give me a hint where to look? I hate css and have never learned how to use it. I can't understand why html just doesn't work on it own.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 25 2012, 05:06 AM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,367
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



The menu isn't on the page you link to, so that's no wonder. The menu you use is already based on CSS.

I don't see any drop in the version of IE I have installed, but it suggests that the width of the menu is too small to contain all links on one line, at least in that version of IE, maybe because of a bug or peculiarity in that version.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 25 2012, 11:48 PM
Post #8


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,008
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Actually, my browser drops both "Finding your way" and "Home" to the next line.

What do you expect to happen when the available display area isn't wide enough for all the menu elements?


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 26 2012, 06:38 AM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,367
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



What browser is that? Doesn't happen in Iron either for me.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 26 2012, 09:30 AM
Post #10


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,008
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



It seems to vary depending on the browser. FF on my laptop drops the last 2 items. Now, on my desktop, FF, Chrome, and Opera drop only the last item, and Safari doesn't drop any. Disabling the minimum font size doesn't change it either.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 11:16 PM