The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fireworks Slices leaving "streaks" in browser preview
klarko4444
post Jun 27 2012, 12:53 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 24-November 10
Member No.: 13,231



Hello,

I'm hoping someone can help with this issue I'm having. I've created a website interface using Fireworks and my slices are leaving streaks and faded squares throughout the page when i preview it or upload it to browser. http://lusciousbeautybar.com.au/index.html Any suggestions?

Thanks very much.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jun 27 2012, 10:19 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 7,998
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



In what browser do you see "streaks and faded squares"? I didn't notice anything like that in any of my browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, all on MacOS).

The main thing I noticed is that the site is just images with virtually no text content.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
klarko4444
post Jun 28 2012, 09:00 PM
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 24-November 10
Member No.: 13,231



Hi Darin,

I see them in Safari or FireFox and I've had other people see them too on their computers from their browsers. Yes, the site at the moment is just images imported as fireworks html into a dreamweaver template. it is allowing me to design it the way i want it to look. The "streaks" or squares are where the slice guides lie. You can see them under the nav buttons and under the right most photo on the home page....I've never run into this problem before. I've virtully tried everything to get rid of them! Anyone ever had this problem before?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 28 2012, 10:38 PM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,219
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I see a couple of larger patches of a lighter pink. One more narrow above the right image and one as wide as the image below it. No streaks.

Seeing the images are GIFs, were they converted to GIF before or after the big image was sliced? Me thinks it's an effect of the GIF conversion, especially if the slices were converted individually.

CODE
Yes, the site at the moment is just images imported as fireworks html into a dreamweaver template. it is allowing me to design it the way i want it to look.


Maybe also give a thought to how it will work. Apart from that, there is no point in slicing something up just to glue it together again if there aren't even pieces that are linked, as with the main part of the site.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
klarko4444
post Jun 29 2012, 10:49 PM
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 24-November 10
Member No.: 13,231



Ok. I am redesigning the site so that it will function better. But I still would love to try to keep the design the same. I almost had it but I ran into a problem.

I am trying to import my header graphic as fireworks html into dreamweaver so I can have rollovers and drop down menus. However, when I import my graphic, I lose the transparent background -it's white instead- so the body background image does not show through. I tried optimizing the header with index transparency but when i do that I get another problem -the whole thing goes dark pink!

I tried creating hot spots with rollovers on the header as an image in dreamweaver but i cant create drop down menus the way I want them because the "show pop up menus" behaviour I can't access and I don't know how to use spry options.

If I could only find a way to import my header graphic with a transparent background!!!!

Please help?

Thanks!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 30 2012, 08:37 AM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,219
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Can't help. Don't know what control those programs offer for this process. I would do it manually.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Jaycbrf4
post Aug 10 2012, 02:26 PM
Post #7


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 9-August 12
Member No.: 17,587



QUOTE(klarko4444 @ Jun 29 2012, 11:49 PM) *

Ok. I am redesigning the site so that it will function better. But I still would love to try to keep the design the same. I almost had it but I ran into a problem.

I am trying to import my header graphic as fireworks html into dreamweaver so I can have rollovers and drop down menus. However, when I import my graphic, I lose the transparent background -it's white instead- so the body background image does not show through. I tried optimizing the header with index transparency but when i do that I get another problem -the whole thing goes dark pink!

I tried creating hot spots with rollovers on the header as an image in dreamweaver but i cant create drop down menus the way I want them because the "show pop up menus" behaviour I can't access and I don't know how to use spry options.

If I could only find a way to import my header graphic with a transparent background!!!!

Please help?

Thanks!


Rule No. 1: Do not use a graphics program to write your code.
Rule No. 2: Only use a gif if it is animated (use png or jpg for images) (png for transparency)
Rule No. 3: Do not use an image as a web page. Create your web page over a background image.

Do not think like a graphic designer, you can not write a web page to "Look" like your photoshop image. Use photoshop to create images for your web page.
You have to think like a web designer and design the page based on what html can do...

Fireworks is kinda cheesy, I do not know why they included it with the Creative Suite, just use Photoshop...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 06:06 AM