The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Way of topic, intermediate HTML user. (Need help)
CosmicPoptart
post Jun 14 2012, 02:06 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-June 12
Member No.: 17,268



My laptop stopped working about 4 months ago.
Around the time of me learning HTML.
Well for now, I'm running off a 10.1" Netbook.
I have pulled back all my working and learning HTML until I get a decent computer.
I'm getting off Topic here, I play a game at "www.Kabam.com/edgeworld/play".
And the problem is, this is a 10.1" like I said and it's hard to see the game.
Especially with the big Website bar at the top of their page and the small one at the bottom.
I was wandering if someone could use something like Firebug (A Firefox add-on) to edit the
HTML or CSS to take those bars away as like a tiny little plugin on Firefox I could download,
that make them bars go away when getting on that site.
I would do it myself but it's hard to find stuff scrolling though HTML and CSS with a screen or laptop this big.
So could someone do this for me?

This post has been edited by CosmicPoptart: Jun 14 2012, 02:07 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 14 2012, 07:56 AM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,634
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You can always use a user style sheet. Provided you can find hooks for a selector you can make whatever disappear with 'display: none'. I think this is still the way to make it work in FF.
http://webdesign.about.com/od/css/ht/htcssuserfirefo.htm


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CosmicPoptart
post Jun 18 2012, 08:01 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-June 12
Member No.: 17,268



QUOTE(pandy @ Jun 14 2012, 08:56 AM) *

You can always use a user style sheet. Provided you can find hooks for a selector you can make whatever disappear with 'display: none'. I think this is still the way to make it work in FF.
http://webdesign.about.com/od/css/ht/htcssuserfirefo.htm


I don't quite exactly know how to do that...
Could you explain more thoroughly?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 18 2012, 09:27 PM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,634
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I can try. Style sheets can come from many different sources. You know you can have several style sheets linked to your document, you can even use style sheets on other domains, you can have embedded style sheets and inline CSS. A user style sheet is used by the user and loaded in the browsers. CSS from all these sources can be used together and declarations from one source can override declarations from another. This is what's called the cascade and why CSS is called CSS, Cascading Style Sheets. Rules about specificity comes into what overrides what. But declarations in user style sheets that use !important overrides everything.
http://www.w3.org/TR/CSS2/cascade.html#cascade

If the a site have, say, a header you want to get rid of you can do that with a user style sheet. But since you can't change the HTML of the site you need to find things already there and construct a selector that targets the hateable header. If you are lucky, the site provides easy hooks for you, for example...
CODE
<div id="header"> <!-- All the header stuff --></div>

Then you just go ahead and use
CODE
#header   { display: none !important }

in your user style sheet.

Browsers are supposed to provide an easy way to load user style sheets, but alas that's not always the case.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CosmicPoptart
post Jun 20 2012, 09:39 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-June 12
Member No.: 17,268



So I would just put that one single command line or code into my custom style sheet and apply that?
Nothing else to do? If so, how do I apply it to Firefox?

EDIT: How would I apply to that website only?

This post has been edited by CosmicPoptart: Jun 20 2012, 09:40 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jun 21 2012, 10:11 AM
Post #6


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,025
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
How would I apply to that website only?
That depends on the browser. Opera makes it easy to edit a user style sheet that applies only to the current site. I'm not sure how to do it with other browsers.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jun 23 2012, 05:40 AM
Post #7


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,634
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I don't know if @-moz-document still works, but I guess it does.

http://coreygilmore.com/blog/2008/10/23/pe...css-in-firefox/


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th November 2014 - 03:48 AM