The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wacky Firefox Problem
Nick
post Dec 12 2006, 07:10 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 268






So dig this -

I have a little countdown script that I modified. Here's my test:

http://truths.treehugger.com/test.php

It seems to work great on all browsers.

But on the main page - http://truths.treehugger.com/

My little clock dissapears in FireFox! Works great in Opera and IE. Although in Opera, there's a span problem on the seconds. Must be related to the FF problem, but I'm baffled.

Any thoughts?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 12 2006, 07:54 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Sounds like your different scripts conflict over variables with common names to me. If you figure out the variables they're fighting over, then you can rename them in one of the scripts to eliminate the conflict.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Nick
post Dec 13 2006, 04:01 PM
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 268



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Dec 12 2006, 07:54 PM) *

Sounds like your different scripts conflict over variables with common names to me. If you figure out the variables they're fighting over, then you can rename them in one of the scripts to eliminate the conflict.


Thanks!

BUt, Apparantly not. I eliminated all other javascript and it still conks out - but only in FireFox. Could it be CSS related? (Did manage to fix the Opera problem)

This post has been edited by Nick: Dec 13 2006, 04:02 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Nick
post Dec 13 2006, 04:07 PM
Post #4


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 29-September 06
Member No.: 268






Ha! I caught it... it's a DOCtype thing... If I eliminate the DOCType all together then it works... I realize I shouldn't do that, but can you suggest a doctype that would allow this?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Dec 13 2006, 04:34 PM
Post #5


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



XHTML is case sensitive, and all element and attribute names must be in lower case. If you use an XHTML doctype declaration that puts some modern browsers into standards mode, then they will enforce the case sensitivity. You could use an HTML doctype (and convert your XHTML syntax to HTML syntax). Or you could fix the case mismatches and use an XHTML doctype. Although I don't recommend using XHTML unless there's a specific benefit to you in doing so.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 07:07 AM