The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Turn "Title=" into HREF to link to .pdf
rcanpolat
post Sep 6 2011, 02:37 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-August 09
Member No.: 9,327



Hi,

I've bought a template for a site I'm building. I've almost got the entire thing all finished but i'm at a bit of a road block. The site is quite heavy on different css sheets & js so its a bit of a mess trying to navigate around to put in my own code so I'm wondering is there a simple way around this.

Basically as you can see from my code below i've got a Gallery on the site. The gallery pre loads images and then displays them. In this case it pre loads "granite_cleaning.jpg"

On hover a little black box slides up displaying the text "Granite Worktop (Clean & Re-Seal)"

On click of the image or js slider it loads a lightbox onto the page displaying the image "STORAC01.jpg" along with a fancy "close" icon, and a fancy "next / previous" button

The text "CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD AND PRINT" is shown below the image on the left on the lightbox. Basically i would like to turn that text into a hyperlink where i can link it to a .pdf where a user can print a voucher. Problem is that "title=" is already part of the "<a href=" line of code.

Is there any simple way i can do this? Im talking like to slap a bit of code directly into the html without having to sift through the css sheets and html. There are about 5 different stylesheets being used for different purposes along side a bucket load of js.

CODE

<li>
<a href="gallery/offers/vouchers/STORAC01.jpg" title="CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD AND PRINT" rel="prettyPhoto[gallery2]">
<img src="gallery/offers/granite_cleaning.jpg" width="290" height="153" alt="" />     
<span class="cover boxcaption">
<span class="prjname">Granite Worktop (Clean & Re-Seal)</span>                                
<span class="gall"></span>                                                
</span>
</a>
</li>


I hope I'm making sense
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Sep 6 2011, 05:49 PM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 6,651
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(rcanpolat @ Sep 6 2011, 09:37 PM) *

Problem is that "title=" is already part of the "<a href=" line of code.

I don't understand. unsure.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
rcanpolat
post Sep 6 2011, 06:05 PM
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-August 09
Member No.: 9,327



Basically what i would like to do is this

Original line of code:

CODE
<a href="gallery/offers/vouchers/STORAC01.jpg" title="CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD AND PRINT" rel="prettyPhoto[gallery2]">


What i want to do:

CODE
<a href="gallery/offers/vouchers/STORAC01.jpg" title="CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD AND PRINT" ****When somebody clicks on the text "Click Here To Download & Print i want it to hyperlink to a pdf**** rel="prettyPhoto[gallery2]">


Make sense now? Or should i make a video? laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Sep 6 2011, 07:03 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,146
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



You can't do that using the title attribute.

What you're doing sounds more like a drop-down menu than a tooltip. For example:
http://meyerweb.com/eric/css/edge/menus/demo.html
http://www.alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns/
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
rcanpolat
post Sep 6 2011, 07:12 PM
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-August 09
Member No.: 9,327



I was thinking about using inline content instead with pretty photo js but now i can't seem to be able to embed an inline photo. it just becomes like a slide show on my pre loader

is there any other way to embed images without using src? Say some basic javascript that wouldn't conflict?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
rcanpolat
post Sep 7 2011, 05:23 AM
Post #6


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-August 09
Member No.: 9,327



Found a work around. I know i'll be shot for saying this but iframe's done the trick
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 7th July 2015 - 09:14 PM