The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Missing lines in table
denmarks
post Jul 7 2011, 12:26 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 174
Joined: 17-January 08
Member No.: 4,734



Sometimes when I display this page
http://dmmarks.com/hawaii.html
a few of the right outside lines on the table do not appear.
A refresh of the page fixes it. What could cause that?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 7 2011, 12:50 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,024
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I didn't notice the problem you described, but the online tools report markup and CSS errors, including some structural problems:
http://htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.cgi?u...mp;warnings=yes
http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validat...ng=&lang=en


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
denmarks
post Jul 7 2011, 01:08 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 174
Joined: 17-January 08
Member No.: 4,734



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Jul 7 2011, 10:50 AM) *

I didn't notice the problem you described, but the online tools report markup and CSS errors, including some structural problems:
http://htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.cgi?u...mp;warnings=yes
http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validat...ng=&lang=en


I have changed the <img ...> to <img ... /> and <br> to <br />.
Most of the others are false errors or things that don't really matter.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 7 2011, 03:04 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,024
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



CODE
Error: character not allowed in prolog
This looks like an extraneous BOM, but regardless, it can throw browsers into quirks mode:
http://hsivonen.iki.fi/doctype/

CODE
Error: element a not allowed here; possible cause is an inline element containing a block-level element
This is a structural problem, and occurs several times. You're missing some closing </a> tags.

CODE
The maximum number of errors was reached. Further errors in the document have not been reported.
There are probably more errors (including structural errors) but the validator won't report them until you fix the other errors.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
denmarks
post Jul 7 2011, 03:44 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 174
Joined: 17-January 08
Member No.: 4,734



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Jul 7 2011, 01:04 PM) *

CODE
Error: character not allowed in prolog
This looks like an extraneous BOM, but regardless, it can throw browsers into quirks mode:
http://hsivonen.iki.fi/doctype/

CODE
Error: element a not allowed here; possible cause is an inline element containing a block-level element
This is a structural problem, and occurs several times. You're missing some closing </a> tags.

CODE
The maximum number of errors was reached. Further errors in the document have not been reported.
There are probably more errors (including structural errors) but the validator won't report them until you fix the other errors.


Thank you for your help. I have fixed many of the important errors. I can not understand the first error. That is not in the HTML source.
EDIT: I have fixed the first error. I was defining the page as UTF8 which was not needed.

This post has been edited by denmarks: Jul 7 2011, 04:22 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
denmarks
post Jul 7 2011, 04:16 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 174
Joined: 17-January 08
Member No.: 4,734



Is there a replacement for the marquee command which the validator does not like?

Many of the errors refer to links that I have copied from other sites. For example there are links to Princess.com for each city. There is no way to change them.

The page displays fine in IE and Firefox so does it really matter if I fix the minor errors?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 7 2011, 09:00 PM
Post #7


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,024
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



The marquee element isn't in any public (X)HTML specification before HTML 5. But IMHO marquee should be avoided anyway.

To fix the errors in the links, see:
http://htmlhelp.com/tools/validator/problems.html.en#amp


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 7 2011, 11:27 PM
Post #8


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,619
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(denmarks @ Jul 7 2011, 10:44 PM) *

Thank you for your help. I have fixed many of the important errors. I can not understand the first error. That is not in the HTML source.
EDIT: I have fixed the first error. I was defining the page as UTF8 which was not needed.


It is, but you don't see it. You have probably used an editor that insists on inserting a BOM (Byte Order Mark) even though it isn't needed for UTF-8.
http://www.w3.org/International/questions/qa-byte-order-mark

You seem to have gotten rid of it now anyhow. But for the future, see if you can make your editor not insert it in the first place or consider another editor.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 7 2011, 11:29 PM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,619
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Heh, I didn't read your last sentence even though I quoted it. blush.gif tongue.gif

Anyhow, you should be able to save as UTF-8. Most editors don't use a BOM for that.


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2014 - 07:09 PM