The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Does my website look okay in your computer screen?
kyle246
post Apr 16 2011, 03:11 PM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 29-January 11
Member No.: 13,738



On my computer, my website looks fine. But then when I look at my website using my Ipad or Ipod Touch, the navbar (at the top) is messed up.

Also my gradient (background) does not show on the Ipad. Instead I get this solid light yellow color. I don't know why that happens.

Could you please view my website in your computer screen and let me know how it looks?

http://www.123finedesign.com/index.html

Thanks,
Kyle246
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 16 2011, 03:43 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,019
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



In what way is the navbar "messed up"? I don't notice anything obvious.

Our online validator reports a few markup errors:
http://htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.cgi?u...mp;warnings=yes

You specify a background image, but not a background color. The bottom of the background image doesn't blend very well with my browser's default background color.

You specify a height for div#navbar but it is possible for the content to overflow the height you specified.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
joyful
post Apr 16 2011, 06:13 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 239
Joined: 15-November 10
Member No.: 13,147



Hey,
When I look at this (in safari on mac), "Pricing and Payment | Company Info" is to low (it goes into the blue)...

Also, "FAQ's" is on it's own line in the blue.
So, it looks to me like (at least in safari) that you have some kind of spacing issue.

Hope this is helpful to you.

--


--------------------
"When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” ~ John Lennon
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kyle246
post Apr 16 2011, 08:55 PM
Post #4


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 29-January 11
Member No.: 13,738



QUOTE(joyful @ Apr 16 2011, 06:13 PM) *

Hey,
When I look at this (in safari on mac), "Pricing and Payment | Company Info" is to low (it goes into the blue)...

Also, "FAQ's" is on it's own line in the blue.
So, it looks to me like (at least in safari) that you have some kind of spacing issue.

Hope this is helpful to you.

--


Hello. Thank you for your answer. Do you know how to fix that spacing issue because on the Ipad, the "FAQ's" part is in the blue as well.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 16 2011, 10:16 PM
Post #5


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,019
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
You specify a height for div#navbar but it is possible for the content to overflow the height you specified.
Stop specifying the height of div#navbar and let it expand to fit its content.


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
joyful
post Apr 16 2011, 10:35 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 239
Joined: 15-November 10
Member No.: 13,147



Hey,
Well, I will have a go at it!:

As Darin said, "Stop specifying the height of div#navbar and let it expand to fit its content."

Also, you can try this to bring FAQ's up:

Right now the bar that "FAQ's" is in looks like this:
CODE

<td width="378"><a href="index.html">Home</a> | <a href="webdesign.html">Website Design</a> | <a href="videoediting.html">Video Editing</a> | <a href="contactme.html">Contact Me</a> | <a href="faqs.html">FAQ's</a></td>

Try making the width more (say... 450, maybe more) this may allow all the text to fit on one line.

I think your issue is that you are not specifying the appropriate amount of space for each one of you'r <td>'s (which is messing up the text).
Try taking away some space (or completely removing) the middle <td>, between FAQ's and ricing and Payment.

Hope this is helpful!

--

This post has been edited by joyful: Apr 16 2011, 10:37 PM


--------------------
"When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” ~ John Lennon
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
kyle246
post Apr 16 2011, 11:06 PM
Post #7


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 29-January 11
Member No.: 13,738



QUOTE(joyful @ Apr 16 2011, 10:35 PM) *

Hey,
Well, I will have a go at it!:

As Darin said, "Stop specifying the height of div#navbar and let it expand to fit its content."

Also, you can try this to bring FAQ's up:

Right now the bar that "FAQ's" is in looks like this:
CODE

<td width="378"><a href="index.html">Home</a> | <a href="webdesign.html">Website Design</a> | <a href="videoediting.html">Video Editing</a> | <a href="contactme.html">Contact Me</a> | <a href="faqs.html">FAQ's</a></td>

Try making the width more (say... 450, maybe more) this may allow all the text to fit on one line.

I think your issue is that you are not specifying the appropriate amount of space for each one of you'r <td>'s (which is messing up the text).
Try taking away some space (or completely removing) the middle <td>, between FAQ's and ricing and Payment.

Hope this is helpful!

--


THANK YOU SO MUCH! I forgot that I had a table put in there. I increased the size of the cell and now it works on my Ipad.

Also the gradient now works as well. I changed the background image from 1px wide to 10px wide. I guess the Ipad couldn't pick it up or something.

Thanks again for the help and thank you everyone for your posts.

Kyle smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Brian Chandler
post Apr 17 2011, 12:12 AM
Post #8


Jocular coder
********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,242
Joined: 31-August 06
Member No.: 43



(Opera) The navigation line
Home | Website Design | Video Editing | Contact Me | FAQ's
ends with "FAQ's" obscured by the logo in the middle.

"FAQ's" is at least peculiar: normally FAQ stands for "Frequently Asked Questions", and does not need a plural, least of all a "Greengrocer's" plural.

The text reads as dreadfully amateurish.



--------------------
Brian Chandler
Nothing in this post constitutes "commercial solicitation". PayPal does not solicit residents of Japan. Contents may settle in transit. "Legal mind" may or may not be brain-damaged.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
joyful
post Apr 17 2011, 12:19 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 239
Joined: 15-November 10
Member No.: 13,147



Hey,
Great, it now looks fine (safari on mac).

Brian is definitely right about "FAQ's" (it should lose the "s").

Glad I could help you! smile.gif

--


--------------------
"When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” ~ John Lennon
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 08:23 AM