The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Navigation/Menu's (drop downs, etc)
ReZo
post Apr 12 2011, 04:10 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-April 11
Member No.: 14,322



Hello Guys,

Awhile ago I use to spend a lot of time making websites for gaming clans and so fourth (using things like PHPBB) but most of the time I used pre-established generators to make my navigations and menus.

I am interested in learning how to make interesting and interactive website navigation's and menus, particularly drop downs. For example like the one displayed here:

http://www.stunicholls.com/menu/pro_dropdown_2.html

yet I am having difficulty in finding good tutorials to do so and was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction so I can learn from the ground up on how to do this. I was having many problems adapting the tutorial above for my own personal use and figure instead of trying to manipulate someone else code I should just learn it.

So again if any of you can point me in the right direction it will be much appreciated and thanks for taking the time to read this!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 12 2011, 05:35 PM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 7,998
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



What problems are you having trying to implement Stu Nicholls' example (the one you linked to)?


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ReZo
post Apr 13 2011, 09:28 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-April 11
Member No.: 14,322



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Apr 12 2011, 06:35 PM) *

What problems are you having trying to implement Stu Nicholls' example (the one you linked to)?



Well I downloaded the zip and unpackaged it into a folder, I created an index.html and created the script in the index using the following code:

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" src="stuHover.js"></script>

Then saved and went to view it and nothing appeared, everything is in the same directory so I figure I am just doing something stupid wrong.

This post has been edited by ReZo: Apr 13 2011, 09:42 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 13 2011, 10:37 AM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 7,998
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Can you provide the URL (address) of a document that demonstrates the problem?


--------------------
Darin McGrew
WDG Member since 1998
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 14 2011, 01:28 AM
Post #5


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 15,195
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(ReZo @ Apr 13 2011, 04:28 PM) *


Well I downloaded the zip and unpackaged it into a folder, I created an index.html and created the script in the index using the following code:

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" src="stuHover.js"></script>


Is that ALL you have in the html document? blink.gif


--------------------
"Never go to excess, but let moderation be your guide."
- Cicero

IPB Image
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 09:44 AM