The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Internet Explorer css menu fix, Does anyone knows how to fix this menu to work in IE
sapote
post Mar 15 2011, 01:37 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 11-March 11
Member No.: 14,114



Hi, this is my website: http://revistahala.com/
In chrome, firefox and safari, the menubar works fine, but in IE the menubar is all messed up.
Anyone knows how to fix it?

CODE

.menu nav li{float:left}
.clearfix{display:inline;}

.mainmenu{background:url(.../img/sprite-common-repeat-x.gif) repeat-x scroll 0 4px;height:43px}
.mainmenu li{background:url(.../img/main-menu-separator.gif) no-repeat scroll 0 11px;margin:4px 0 30px;padding:13px 13px 14px 14px;position:relative;z-index:1}
.mainmenu li:first-child{background:none;padding-left:14px}
.mainmenu li.selected{background:url(.../img/sprite-common-repeat-x.gif) repeat-x scroll 0 -39px;margin-top:0;padding-bottom:13px;padding-top:16px}
.mainmenu a{background:url(.../img/mosaico.png);display:block;height:15px;overflow:hidden;text-indent:-9999px}
.mainmenu .selected a{height:16px}



Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by sapote: Mar 15 2011, 01:42 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Mar 15 2011, 02:56 AM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I don't have IE, but you are using some HTML5 elements, such as <header> and <nav>, that IE doesn't understand.
You'll need some script to enable HTML5 elements in IE. Search for "html5 in ie" or "html5 in ie without javascript".
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
sapote
post Mar 15 2011, 03:28 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 11-March 11
Member No.: 14,114



QUOTE(Frederiek @ Mar 15 2011, 02:56 AM) *

I don't have IE, but you are using some HTML5 elements, such as <header> and <nav>, that IE doesn't understand.
You'll need some script to enable HTML5 elements in IE. Search for "html5 in ie" or "html5 in ie without javascript".


Indeed. That was it. Thank you very much. Just fixed it placing the 'float:left' into .mainmenu li
for IE to understand it.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Mar 15 2011, 12:03 PM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Be sure to use the HTML5 DOCTYPE too, then.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
sapote
post Mar 22 2011, 12:26 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 11-March 11
Member No.: 14,114



CODE

.submenu {background:#dedede;left:auto;padding:10px 0 8px;position:absolute;width:960px;}
.submenu a{color:#0A3B53;font:1.4em Arial, "Helvetica Neue",Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif}
.submenu a{border-left:1px solid #aaa;padding:0 15px}
.submenu li{display:inline;overflow:hidden;}
.submenu li:first-child a{border:0;}


Hi there, I need some help again. This is the submenu code for this website: http://buddhasamigo.com/
It works fine in ff, safari and chrome, but as usual, there's a problem with ie7. The content gets below the submenu, any idea how to fix this?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th November 2017 - 10:37 AM